Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSL6760

Course Guide for Addiction Counseling CSL6760

Electronic Books

 ELECTRONIC BOOK COLLECTIONS

 

Below is just a small sample of the many full-text electronic books available in EBSCO eBook Collection and ProQuest Ebook Central, two electronic book databases provided for student use. Directions on how to use these two sources follow under “Online Databases”.  These books were found using the term “addictions”. You can be more specific with your search depending upon your subject, i.e. “drug addiction”, or “alcoholism”; “sex addiction”.

 

Addiction Treatment Homework Planner (5th ed)

            James R. Finley and Brenda S. Lenz. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2014.  (eBook Collection)

 

Behavioral Addictions: Criteria, Evidence, and Treatment

            Kenneth Paul Rosenber and Laura Curtiss Feder. New York: Academic Press, 2014. (eBook Collection)

 

Contemporary Approach in Substance Abuse Disorders and Addiction Counseling

            Ford McHenry Brooks. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2015.  (eBook Collection)

 

Ctrl-Alt-Play: Essays on Control in Video Gaming

            Matthew Wysocki. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, 2013.  (ProQuest Central)

 

Dostoevsky Effect: Problem Gambling and the Origins of Addiction

            Lorne Tepperman (et al.). Don Mills, Ont.: Oxford University Press, 2013. (eBook Collection)

 

Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse

            William Mistral. Somerset, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2013.   (ProQuest Cental)

 

Ethics for Addiction Professionals

            Jennifer D. Berton. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley and Sons, 2014.  (eBook Collection)


Food and Addiction: a Comprehensive Handbook

Kelly D. Brownell and Mark S. Gold. (eds.). New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. (eBook Collection)

 

For Program Gambling: Treating Gambling Addiction through Relationship

             Elizabeth Karter. New York: Routledge, 2015.   (eBook Collection)

 

Integral Recovery: a Revolutionary Approach to the Treatment of Alcoholism and Addiction

            John Dupuy. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2013.   (eBook Collection)

 

Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling

            Geraldine A. Berton. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2014.  (eBook Collection)

 

Maintaining Recovery from Eating Disorder Recovery Groups: a Guide to Creating, Leading, and

            Working with Groups for Addictions and Mental Health

            Linda Farris Kurtz. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2015.  (eBook Collection)

 

Molecular Neurobiology of Addiction Recovery: the 12 Steps Program and Fellowship

            Kenneth Blum. New York: Springer, 2013. (eBook Collection)

 

Practice Planners: Addiction Treatment Planner (5th Edition)

            Robert R. Perkinson, Timothy J, Bruce, and Arthur E. Jongsma. Somerset, NJ: John Wiley & Sons,

            Inc., 2014.   (ProQuest Central)

 

Theory of Addiction

            Robert West and Jamie Brown. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: John Wiley and Sons, 2014. (eBook Collection)

 

Treatment Strategies for Substance and Process Addictions

            Robert L. Smith. Alexandria, VA: APA, 2015.  (eBook Collection)

 

 

Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Disordered Gambling

            David C. S. Richard, Alex Blaszczynski, and Lia Nower. Somerset, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2013. (ProQuest Central)

 

 

 

VIDEOS

(Videos / DVDs are for classroom use, but can be viewed in the Library.)

 

D 616.8522 P273       

Pathological Gambling: a Costly Addiction               2004         DVD            52 min

            Describes the emotional attraction of games of chance and the biochemical roles of serotonin and dopamine in gambling addiction.

 

D 616.8606 Un22

Understanding Addiction                                                 2004          DVD          24 min

            Explains current research into why people become addicted, what puts them at risk, and what the best treatments may be.