MGT6705

HOW TO USE AMBERTON’S ONLINE DATABASE

 

 

Amberton provides students and faculty, on-campus and off-campus, access to various databases for research. These online databases offer indexes to citations of articles and books. The full-text of many (but not all) of these items can be viewed on-screen.

 

 

 

EBSCO

 

 

The EBSCO database collection provides full-text and abstract access for over 33,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including business, management, economics, finance, accounting, social sciences, psychology and behavioral sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, languages and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

 

 

           EASY STEPS FOR SEARCHING EBSCO’S PROFESSIONAL JOURNALS

 

1. Go to the Amberton website: www.amberton.edu

 

2. Click on “Student Login” in the upper right corner. Log in as directed.

 

3. Click on “Research Tools Database” and then click on “EBSCO.”

 

4. Click on “EBSCOhost Web – All Databases.” Here you will see a long list of database titles. Read the descriptions to decide which ones would have the kind of information you seek. Click on the box before each title to mark that database for inclusion in your search. Then click on “Continue.” (All marked databases will be searched at one time.)

 

5. In the search box, type the keyword(s) that describe what you want to find (example: entrepreneur or small business).

 

6. You can limit your search in several ways. Look below the green line. Mark “Full-Text,” “Scholarly (or Peer Reviewed) Journals,” “References Available,” “Limit Years.”

 

7. Click on “Search.”

 

8. A list will appear. These are citations of articles that contain your keywords.

 

9. Click on a title to see an abstract of the article. If you want the full-text of the article, look on the list for the words “PDF Full-Text” or “HTML Full-Text” and click on those words. (If an article in the list does not display those words, then the full-text is not available online.

 

 

 

USING BOOLEAN OPERATORS IN YOUR EBSCO SEARCHES

 

• AND – combines terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education and technology finds articles that contain both terms.

 

• OR – combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education or technology finds results that contain either term.

 

• NOT – excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education not technology finds results that contain the term “education” but not the term “technology.”

 

 

DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS

 

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 11,024 free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Over 650 of these journals are currently searchable at article level, while the other can be accessed by the title of the journal.

 

1. Go to the Amberton website: www.amberton.edu

 

2. Click on “Student Login” in the upper right corner. Log in as directed.

 

3. Click on “Research Tools Database” and then click on “Directory of Open Access Journals.”

 

4. Follow on-screen options to search by subject or journal title.

 

 

EBSCO EBOOKS

 

This general collection of more than 150,000 titles on many subjects can be searched by author, title, subject, or keyword. You can view full-text books as well as search the entire collection by keyword.

 

 

 

EASY STEPS FOR SEARCHING EBSCO’s EBOOK COLLECTION

 

 

1. Go to the Amberton website: www.amberton.edu

 

2. Click on “Student Login” in the upper right corner. Log in as directed.

 

3. Click on “Research Tolls Database,” then click on “EBSCO.”

 

4. Click on “EBSCOhost Web – All Databases.” Here you will see a long list of database titles. Click on the letter “E” at the top of the page. This will take you to the databases beginning with the letter “E.” Click on the box before the eBooks database to mark this database for inclusion in your search.

 

5. Enter your search term in the box and search “Search.”

 

6. Once you have found the book you want, simply click on the cover of the book.

 

By incorporating eBooks with EBSCO, you can search for articles and books at the same time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

PROQUEST EBOOK CENTRAL

 

 

 

 

EASY STEPS FOR SEARCHING PROQUEST EBOOK CENTRAL

 

 

1. Go to the Amberton website: www.amberton.edu

 

2. Click on “Current Students” on the left side of the page near the top.

 

3. Click on “Library Collection” below the two-books icon on the right.

 

4. Click on “ProQuest eBook Central” on the right side of the page.

 

5. In the “Search ebooks” box at the top, type your search term(s).

 

6. Use any of the limiters, such as “Year Published,” “Subject,” “Language,” etc.

 

7. Click on the title or cover of the book you wish to select.

 

8. To begin reading this book, click “Read Online” or “Full Download.”

 

 

NOTE: “Full Download” will allow you to check out the book for 21 days, after which it will delete itself from your computer. However, no one else will be able to read that same book online for the duration of your possession, which may cause problems for other students if an assignment requires they read a portion of the same book.