HBD5173: Guides and Handbooks

Why does organizational behavior matter In Organizational Behavior: A Skill-Building Approach readers can find an answer to this by absorbing insight on OB concepts and processes through an interactive skill-building approach. Translating the latest research into practical applications and best practices, authors Christopher P. Neck, Jeffery D. Houghton, and Emma L. Murray unpack how managers can develop their managerial skills to unleash the potential of their employees. The text examines how individual characteristics, group dynamics, and organizational factors affect performance, motivation, and job satisfaction. Packed with critical thinking opportunities, experiential exercises, and self-assessments, this new Second Edition extends a hands-on, even fun, introduction to the multi-faceted world of OB.

Achieve unprecedented business value by fostering true employee engagement. Many organizations fail to realize and harness the power of their most valuable asset--their employees. Though they can be developed into a true competitive advantage, engagement isn't attainable if the employee isn't invested in the company's overall success. Agile Engagement offers business leaders a concrete strategy for building, maintaining, and utilizing employee engagement to achieve the highest level of business success. The key is that employees must feel like they are a part of the company's culture instead of having it handed down to them. True engagement occurs when an employee's heart and mind are activated in a way that leads to their motivation and commitment positively impacting the company's goals and vision.

Unknowingly, many in business operate from an inward mindset--a narrow focus on self-centered goals and objectives. When faced with personal ineffectiveness or lagging organizational performance, most instinctively look for quick-fix behavioral band-aids, not recognizing the underlying mindset at the heart of persistent challenges. Through true stories and simple yet profound guidance and tools, The Outward Mindset enables individuals and organizations to make the one change that most dramatically improves performance, sparks collaboration, and accelerates innovation--a shift to an outward mindset.

This revised edition of text updates and expands upon the integrative OMB (organizational misbehavior) framework pioneered by the authors. Streamlined for improved readability, it covers key topics that have emerged in the scholarly literature in the past decade including insidious workplace behavior, bullying and harassment in the workplace, information hiding, cyberbullying, and organizational spirituality. A thorough and up-to-date resource on this subject in organizational studies, the book provides insights on misbehavior at the individual, position, group, and organizational levels.

The main question the authors are striving to answer throughout the book “Organizational Social Irresponsibility: individual behaviors and organizational practices” is the following: Do individual behaviors influence socially irresponsible organizational practices? The book is divided into three parts: first: “The dark side of organizational behaviors”, second: “Individual skills and the workplace” and third: “Organizational politics, practices and tools. Authored by a range of authors from all over the world, the text covers for readers several theoretical and practical contributions on the topic of organizational social irresponsibility and individual behavior, impacting areas like workplace wellness, decision‐making, and diversity management.

This highly readable career development book reveals dynamic aspects of the workplace that are hidden to many, ignored by others--factors that can make or break careers. There are numerous key questions about work that most individuals never consider. How can workplace norms affect careers in powerful ways? How do sex-role stereotypes impact behaviors? When are "teams" not teams? How does organizational culture profoundly affect the workplace? What questions should employees ask themselves about bosses? What factors most affect job satisfaction and success? Written by a former management consultant to the U.S. Air Force and a professor and organizational behavior scholar, this work explains many of the dynamics at play in organizations. It is beyond being informative and insightful to employees - regardless of job status or experience - but it also is highly readable, entertaining, and thought-provoking.

Organizational researchers and managers have never had a single easy-to-use resource for validated measures, often relying on a selection of journal articles or improvised solutions to meet immediate needs. Taking the Measure of Work: A Guide to Validated Scales for Organizational Research and Diagnosis provides researchers, consultants, managers, and organizational development specialists validated and reliable ways to measure how employees view their work and their organization.

Family firms constitute more than 80% of businesses and employ 60% of the workforce worldwide. This book presents valuable insights about how these firms operate and how their employees feel. It explores HR management issues, family integration as a source of competitive advantage, and the financial management practices of family firms. In addition to offering a comprehensive analysis of managerial issues in family businesses, it also provides state of the art findings about these challenges.

Managers are increasingly employing teams as a primary work unit in organizations, but they are struggling with how to effectively lead the emerging team structures. Intensifying the challenges that they are facing, work restrictions due to the Covid-19 pandemic hastened the move to remote work, flexible work arrangements, and virtual teams. This current volume of Research in Human Resource Management presents literature reviews, conceptual development ideas, and original research evidence to inform the management of teams and spotlight new directions and approaches for team research in this evolving and dynamic environment. This ten article volume includes an outstanding roster of established and emerging team scholars who define the future of team management research. Designed primarily for scholars in the fields of human resource management, organizational behavior, and industrial-organizational psychology., the volume also serves the needs of instructors and students in master's and doctoral courses in industrial-organizational psychology, human resource management, or organizational behavior. Each article is grounded in managerial context that will appeal to practitioners in the field.

In this are collected 32 original chapters, reporting on research conducted around the world by top scholars in over 50 countries, striving to bring a greater collective comprehension of how people work in organisations around the world, and how they think, feel, and behave (about politics, leadership, stress and differing global contexts). The material can be useful in a number of different audiences, one being classroom settings encompassing graduate seminars, and also special courses in: Business; Organizational Behavior (OB); HRM; OD; OT; OS; Management; Industrial Sociology; Politics; Negotiations; Gender, Ethnic and Cultural Studies; Labor Relations; Marketing; Political Economy; Family and Consumer Science; Law; Journalism and Communications; Nursing Science Administration; Public Policy; Interdisciplinary Studies; Social Work; Industrial/Organisational Psychology; Social Psychology; Social Economics; and in-house training programs and executive education classes.

It is evident today that organizations are becoming increasingly diverse because of the growing numbers of ethnic minorities in the U.S. and the rise in immigration around the world (U.S. Bureau of Census, 2019). Some estimates indicate that by 2060 ethnic minorities in the U.S. will actually comprise the majority of the population (U.S. Bureau of Census, 2019), and national minority group members will constitute over 14% of the 770 million people in the European Union (Worldwide Population Estimates, 2017). Thus, organizations around the world are faced with numerous challenges associated with attracting, motivating, and retaining employees who are culturally diverse. Organizations need a better understanding of how to increase the inclusion of diverse group members within. This edited book includes twelve cutting edge articles written by subject matter experts on an array of topics including: (a) the influence of multiculturalism on HR practices, (b) factors affecting the success of corporate women, (c) stereotypes of racial minorities, (d) effect sizes in diversity research, ( e) true identities of stigmatized persons, (f) diversity training, (g) LGBTQ issues, (h) age, (I) strategies for creating inclusive climates, (j) the development of measure of reactions to perceived discrimination, (k) racial harassment, and (l) unfair discrimination against immigrants. Apart from theories and research on diversity and inclusion, the book also considers implications for designing HR policies and processes in organizations. Therefore, the book is especially relevant for practitioners and human resource professionals because it provides guidance on HR practices that can help organizations attract and retain these new organizational members.

The highly experienced authors of Organisational Diagnosis provide the reader with the necessary advice, tools and applications to conduct a successful organisational diagnosis. Readers will come to understand how to diagnose concerns/problems and leverage untapped possibilities in the organisation in order to improve and be successful in a competitive, fast-changing world. The book consists of 13 chapters, which cover the core concepts in conducting an organisational diagnosis. Areas covered include: Planning and coordinating an organisational diagnosis, Preparing and involving all stakeholders, Developing and sourcing assessment instruments, Survey administration process, Data gathering in groups (in an inclusive way), Analysing and interpretation of results, Follow-up processes (that include clarifying survey results), Report writing and feedback, and Action planning and learning.

Employee Engagement: Creating high positive energy at work is a complete how-to for implementing an employee engagement strategy. It unpacks the role leaders and HR play in: - Understanding the importance of employee engagement in organisational success - Measuring employee engagement - The conditions required for highly engaged employees o Matching work to employee's strengths o Creating a sense of meaning and purpose at work through inspiring vision, values and culture o Supporting employees in their personal and work-related growth and development. o Creating the organisational climate required for high-engagement o Ensuring leaders play their role in creating high-engagement o Addressing the organisational issues for high-engagement. Text is essential reading for anyone currently managing people or will be leading them in the future.

Clear, concise, and written by experts currently lecturing in the field, Organizational Behaviour focuses exclusively on what is leaders need to know to attain success in business, locally and globally. The text brings together a range of ideas, models and concepts on organizational behavior from an array of fields, including psychology, sociology, history, economics, and politics. The information is presented in bite-sized digestible pieces in an engaging style that makes it splendid for introductory courses covering organizations. Key features include: - a clear and thought-provoking introduction to organizational behaviour. - relevant, cutting-edge case studies with global focus. - hot topics such as eOrganizations, ethics, and diversity. - and further reading, summaries, activities, key theme boxes and review questions to help reinforce understanding. This textbook will be a valuable resource for students of business and management studies, organisation studies, psychology, and sociology.

Although the topic of job attitudes and other workplace psychological constructs such as perceptions, identity, bonds, and motivational states is important, there are no books addressing the topic as a whole. Essentials of Job Attitudes and Other Workplace Psychological Constructs seeks to fill that void in a comprehensive edited volume that compiles chapters by experts on each construct. Essentials of Job Attitudes and Other Workplace Psychological Constructs begins with a review of the concept of job attitudes and other workplace psychological constructs, then devotes a single chapter to each construct. These chapters focus on organizational justice, perceived organizational support, organizational identification, job involvement, workplace commitments, job embeddedness, job satisfaction, employee engagement, and team-related work attitudes. Each of these chapters addresses parallel content including definitions, history, theory, a critique of the field to date with future research recommendations, and how the given construct can be used in practice. There are two additional features that make this book unique: first, each chapter provides a nomological network figure of the workplace psychological construct addressed; and second, each chapter provides one or more of the current measures used to assess the construct of interest.

Work environments are paved with challenges and uncertainties that can result in the risk of setbacks and personal failure. Experiencing negative events such as these can be devastating for employees. This results in employees becoming distracted, detaching themselves from work and being unable to effectively engage in their work activities. Work Life after Failure?: How Employees Bounce Back, Learn, and Recover from Work-Related Setbacks brings together the knowledge from three distinct concepts that currently lack integration: resilience, learning, and recovery. The authors regard resilience as the positive adaptation after adversity and examine aspects of learning from failure as a process of improvement through enhanced knowledge and understanding after negative professional experiences. The exploration of recovery is situated in the context of a process of reducing strain symptoms that were caused by work-related events. Additionally, encompassing as it does both conceptual and empirical work from experts in the fields of resilience, learning from failure, and recovery, the book sheds light on the classification of failures and setbacks and develops a measure of the setback severity.

Positive Organizational Behaviour introduces the most recent theoretical and empirical insights on positive organizational practices, addressing emerging topics such as resilience, job crafting, responsible leadership and mindfulness. Other books on positive approaches tend to gloss over the limitations of the positive agenda, but this textbook is unique in taking a reflective approach, focusing on the positive while also accommodating critical perspectives relating to power and control. Positive Organizational Behaviour provides an integrated conceptual framework, evidence-based findings and practical tools to gain an understanding of the potential of positive organizational practices. Textbook will provide advanced management and psychology students with a grounding in the area, and help them develop strategies for building effective and responsible organizations.

Behavioural ethics in business is an emerging field that has challenged some of the established wisdom about ethics and added some truly new insights into our understanding about decision-making and behaviour. Why do seemingly responsible employees and managers sometimes act in bad ways? This book explains how people behave in real situations and what action can be taken to nudge behaviour in a more ethical direction. The text is ideal for use in the classroom as core or additional reading on courses in business ethics and corporate social responsibility; organisational behaviour and psychology; and any module with ethics content (for example, accounting ethics and strategic management). Each chapter is presented as a story with details about the experimental designs and related research findings. Key features included are learning outcomes; suggested class activities; mock assessment questions; and an annotated list of key readings providing a one-stop text for tutors and students interested in this increasingly important area of study.

In text, which is part of a series on Exploring Effective Leadership Practices through Popular Culture, the author examines mentorship and learning, transformational and servant leadership, culture, bases of power, leader emergence, teams, motivation, and more. Readers will become familiar with academically supported leadership concepts they can employ in their own behaviors as needed. Leadership in Middle-Earth explores J.R.R. Tolkien's exemplary leadership and management examples evident in tales such as 'The Hobbit' and 'The Lord of the Rings', examining mentorship, team dynamics, mindfulness, servant leadership, influence and ethical leadership through solid academic theories and management practices. By examining leadership theories through the context of popular culture, readers hopefully will be encouraged to think creatively about how they might adjust their own management approaches.

A book that defined the field, updated and expanded for today's organizations, Organizational Culture and Leadership is the classic reference for managers and students seeking a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of organizational culture dynamics and leadership. Author Edgar Schein is the 'father' of organizational culture and is world-renowned for his expertise and research in the field. In this book, he analyzes and illustrates - with the use of cases - the abstract concept of culture and shows its importance to the management of organizational change. The edition also shows how culture has become a popular interest and concept leading to a wide variety of research and implementations by various organizations. Special emphasis is given to how the role of leadership varies with the age of the organization from founding, through mid-life to old age in response to cultural issues. This landmark book is considered the defining resource in the field. Drawing on a wide range of research, this fifth edition contains 25 percent new and revised material to incorporate new relevant concepts and perspectives building upon the basic culture model that has helped to define the field.