CSL6770: Guides and Handbooks

Psychologists who work in business and other organizational settings encounter unique ethical issues that are not found in traditional clinical practice. This volume provides an overview of these issues for consulting psychologists, graduate students, and practitioners in other fields who want to transition to organizational consulting. Using the APA Ethics Code as its foundation, the book teaches readers how to make ethical decisions when conducting assessments and applying interventions with individual employees, work groups, and entire organizations, small and large. Authors Rodney Lowman and Stewart Cooper explore common themes in ethical practice, including informed consent, confidentiality, multiple relationships, conflicts of interest, and competence. They demonstrate how these issues manifest differently in the work environment through vivid case examples that bring to life the concrete work of consulting psychologists. These informative vignettes teach readers how to negotiate complex challenges, such as when organizational demands and corrupt business practices come into conflict with psychologists' ethical responsibilities. Special attention is also given to emerging areas of practice, including telepsychology, multinational and multicultural consulting, and coaching.

This is ethics book no psychology student or professional should be without. Thoroughly updated and expanded to include recent research findings, landmark legal decisions, the Hoffman Investigation Report, and changes both in the ethical guidelines of the American Psychological Association and the Canadian Psychological Association, the new 5th edition of Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling covers the latest developments in ethical thinking, standards, and practice. You'll learn how to strengthen your ethical awareness, judgement, and decision-making. Distinguished Emeritus Professor Don Meichenbaum described the 5th edition as 'a MUST READ book for both beginning and seasoned clinicians' and Professor David H. Barlow wrote, 'A stunningly good book. . . . If there is only one book you buy on ethics, this is the one.' Covers the many changes and challenges brought about by new technology, EHRs, videoconferencing, and texting, as well as practicing across state and provincial borders. Discusses moral distress and moral courage. Includes five chapters on different aspects of critical thinking about ethical challenges, including a chapter on 'Ethics Placebos, Cons, and Creative Cheating: A User's Guide.' Deals with complex issues of culture, race, religion, sexual identity, sexual orientation, and politics. Provides steps to strengthen ethics in organizations. Offers guidance on responding to ethics, licensing, and malpractice complaints--not to imply that you'll need to after reading this book! Keeps the focus on practical, creative approaches to the responsibilities, challenges, and opportunities encountered by therapists and counselors in their work.

An authoritative exploration of the most difficult ethical, legal, and professional challenges in counseling, presented in an easy-to-understand manner. Written by two counseling professors - one an attorney and the other an expert in ethics - Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling walks readers through the ethical, legal, and professional challenges they could encounter in their counseling careers. It includes numerous case studies throughout to highlight ethical and legal situations faced by counselors, and it also includes the authors' best thinking and practical advice on how to resolve these situations. The book focuses squarely on the counseling profession, as opposed to psychiatry or other helping professions. Also available with MyLab Counseling. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Counseling organizes all assignments around essential learning outcomes and the CACREP standards - enabling easy course alignment and reporting.

How can philosophy guide our understanding of and approach to counseling ethics and techniques? Moving beyond the standard review of ethical issues and basic problem solving, this highly engaging new text for counseling professionals features innovative, experiential activities and case studies that promote in-depth thinking about the ethical, moral, and legal issues often confronted by counseling professionals. The book is designed to help counselors develop an appreciation for and confidence in their preferred set of philosophical ethics and become ethically autonomous professionals. To this end, it examines a full range of philosophical approaches to ethics, such as the well-known concepts of ethics codes and laws, as well as the less familiar ideas of existential phenomenology, care ethics, and virtues. Featuring contributions from leading counselor educators and practitioners representing a wide range of expertise in counseling specialties and ethical practice, this text presents ethical practice from a positive, proactive point of view rather than from a reactive or fear-based stance. It provides a solid foundation in ethical decision making, critical thinking, and best practices that will enable counseling professionals to navigate the maze of ethical codes and standards of care, while confidently practicing in a consistently ethical manner. The accompanying Instructorís Manual offers step-by-step guidance on how to facilitate classroom activities and case study discussions, as well as a sample syllabus and a selection of quiz and essay questions to enhance studentsí understanding of each chapter. The text is congruent with relevant ethical codes and CACREP curriculum standards. Key Features: Provides activity-based learning regarding all the ethical standards and legal issues counselors will face Promotes in-depth critical thinking and a proactive, postitive approach to ethical and moral dilemmas Includes examples across all counseling settings and specialties Offers students multiple case examples that make ethical issues realistic and engaging Features Instructorís Manual offering sample syllabus and resources for course activities

The work of psychotherapy and counseling is full of ethical challenges and dilemmas. Responding to these situations with wisdom is critical, not only for the professional's credibility, but also for good therapeutic relationships and positive treatment outcomes. Since its first publication, Christian Counseling Ethics has become a standard reference work for Christian psychologists, counselors and pastors and a key text at Christian universities and seminaries. This thoroughly revised edition retains core material on counseling ethics that has made it so valuable in a variety of settings. Now fully updated, it weighs and assesses new and emerging ethical issues in the field. For example, the current volume explores ethical issues involved in: multiple relationships confidentiality documentation therapist competence and character addressing spiritual and value issues in therapy teletherapy individual and couples therapy counseling with minors psychological first aid after disasters counseling cross culturally. In addition, the book considers dilemmas Christian therapists face in specific settings such as: church-based counseling centers government and military institutions missions organizations college counseling centers.

Many counselors learn about ethics in graduate school by applying formal, step-by-step ethical decision-making models that require counselors to be aware of their values and refrain from imposing personal values that might harm clients. However, in the real world, counselors often make split-second ethical decisions based upon personal values. Values and Ethics in Counseling illustrates the ways in which ethical decisions are values--but more than that, it guides counselors through the process of examining their own values and analyzing how these values impact ethical decision making. Each chapter presents ethical decision making as what it is: a very personal, values-laden process, one that is most effectively illustrated through the real-life stories of counselors at various stages of professional development--from interns to seasoned clinicians--who made value-based decisions. Each story is followed by commentary from the author as well as analysis from the editors to contextualize the material and encourage reflection.

Updated, reorganized, and streamlined to focus squarely on ethical decision making in counseling and psychotherapy and in the practice of specialties in counseling,
the fifth edition of this text is unparalleled in helping counselors-in-training use ethical decision-making processes as a foundation for approaching ethical and legal dilemmas in clinical practice. Newly organized and streamlined to eliminate redundancies, this textbook presents multiple new chapters that reflect the latest developments in counseling specialty areas. This new edition also features an overview of ethical decision-making models, principles, and standards. Abundant instructor resources, reflecting changes to the fifth edition, include an Instructor's Manual, Power Points, Sample Syllabi, and a Test Bank. Through its alignment with the CAPREP standards, the new edition continues to deliver a comprehensive overview of ethical decision-making models in each chapter, along with step-by-step processes for applying these models to a wide range of clinical cases.

The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference (PCDR) is the first resource of its kind, serving as an authoritative guide for both pre-professionals working towards counselor licensure and certification, as well as seasoned counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. Drs. Marini and Stebnicki present this quick, user-friendly desk reference guide based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined in both the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) and Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE) accreditation standards. With contributions from 95 experts in counselor education, research, and practice, this book includes: Bulleted "how to" strategies for working with clients under various models in counseling and psychology Easy-to-read tables, graphics, and figures to capture a holistic picture of specific client issues Guidelines for conducting interviews and assessments with culturally diverse clients, as well as treatment protocols that suggest evidence-based practices Discussions on counselor impairments such as empathy fatigue, and developing a plan of self-care to prevent counselor burnout . Marini and Stebnicki provide a wide range of culturally diverse treatment approaches that will expand the counseling profession's knowledge, awareness, and skills.

Are dual relationships always detrimental? Speaking the Unspeakable provides an in-depth exploration of client-practitioner dual relationships, offering critical discussion and sustained narrative on thinking about and being in dual relationships. Lynne Gabriel draws on the experiences of both practitioners and clients to provide a clear summary of the complex and multidimensional nature of dual relationships. The beneficial as well as detrimental potential of such relationships is discussed and illustrated with personal accounts. Subjects covered include: · roles and boundaries in dual and multiple role relationships · client experiences and perceptions of being in dual and multiple role relationships · developing a relational ethic for complex relationships This book offers an insightful and challenging portrayal of dual relationships that will be welcomed by therapists, trainers, trainees and supervisors.

Counselling supervision is an expanding area, as increasing numbers of counsellors enter the profession and require supervision on a regular basis. Counselling Supervision in Organisations seeks to provide a model of counselling supervision within organisations, enabling supervisors, counsellors and their line managers to work effectively within organisational cultures for the benefit of all parties in the working alliance. Drawing on her own research, Sue Copeland explores both counselling and supervision cultures and their fit with various organisational cultures. The dilemmas that often arise from a clash between differing cultural norms are discussed in relation to the supervisory process. From securing a supervisory position, contracting for the work, reporting back to the organisation, assessing the work and ending the relationship, through to an in-depth consideration of the supervisory work embedded in a good working relationship, her model provides a blueprint for the supervisory process. The model described in Counselling Supervision in Organisations brings together the cultures of counselling and supervision and their relation to organisational cultures. It will provide a unique resource for counsellors; trainee and professional counselling supervisors and their line managers.

Developing and maintaining a secure framework for professional practice is a core part of any counselling and psychotherapy training, as all therapists need to understand the key values, ethics and laws that underpin the profession today. But what does being a member of a profession actually mean, and what does being a 'professional' actually involve? Structured around the BACP Core Curriculum, and with the help of exercises, case studies and tips for further reading, this book covers everything from the requirements of the BACP Ethical Framework to broader perspectives on good professional practice. It includes: Practising as a therapist in different roles and organizational contexts. Working with key issues, including difference, vulnerable clients and risk. Understanding the law and relevant legal frameworks for practice. Working ethically, including contrasting models and approaches to ethics.

In Foundations of Ethical Practice, Research, and Teaching in Psychology and Counseling, the authors lay a conceptual foundation for thinking well about ethical problems. Whereas the first edition focused mainly on ethical reasoning and decision making, this new edition draws more explicitly on all components of James Rest's model of moral/ethical behavior, including moral/ethical sensitivity, moral/ethical decision making, moral/ethical motivation, and the ego strength to follow through on the decision. The book addresses five key principles of ethical decision making and includes updated sections on research, teaching and supervision, and practice. It discusses the relationship of the ethical principles and the model of ethical decision-making to professional ethical codes, while offering discussion questions, case scenarios, and activities to help the reader focus on ethical character and virtue. Foundations of Ethical Practice, Research, and Teaching in Psychology and Counseling gives psychologists, students, and trainees the tools they need to analyze their own ethical quandaries and take the right action.

Culturally Relevant Ethical Decision-Making in Counseling presents a hermeneutic orientation and framework to address contextual issues in ethical decision-making in counseling and psychotherapy. Authors Rick Houser, Felicia L. Wilczenski, and Mary Anna Ham incorporate broad perspectives of ethical theories which are grounded in various worldviews and sensitive to cultural issues.A key feature is that it introduces a wide range of ethical theories, helping foster an in-depth understanding of general culturally relevant ethical theories that represent most world philosophical views. The authors also discuss how to negotiate between an enhanced ethical perspective based on diversity and professional standards codified and mandated in this country.

Ethical decision-making is required in many of the difficult situations faced by addiction professionals. In this guide, Michael Taleff describes how to integrate critical thinking with ethical decision-making. This is a guide not on "what to do" when confronted with difficult ethical dilemmas, but on how to think about what to do. The author presents common ethical dilemmas that addiction professionals face in their daily work--such as boundary issues, confidentiality, dual relationships, and more--and asks readers to consider their own responses to these dilemmas. The book then shows readers how to apply new models of ethical thinking to practice. Key features are that the book presents an ethical self-exam to encourage critical thinking about one's own decision-making method; Introduces a variety of models such as the social contract theory, existentialist theory, and ethical egoism; discusses how biases, emotional reactions, and fallacies can weaken ethical decision-making; and presents an introductory "Ethics Judgment Kit," - a simple, practical decision-making procedure for students The book also demonstrates how critical thinking skills can impact and improve the process of ethical decision-making. The aspects of the book related to the philosophy of science and cognitive science (inductive and deductive reasoning, biases, and heuristics) are distilled in reasonable and useful ways are recommended especially to readers who want to create their own framework for ethical decision making.

This encyclopedia presents important research on ethics. The five set volume includes discussions on religious, spiritual, economic, political, medical, environmental, and business ethics, including sections on interplay with patients and patrons with psychosocial tendencies.

Useful for all counselors, clinicians and counselors-in-training, the 7th edition of this fully updated text provides a detailed examination of the newly revised ACA Code of Ethics. Find out what is new and which sections of the code that have undergone the most significant revision to ensure understanding of and compliance with the most current ethical standards in the field.

The second edition of this practical and easily understood handbook provides counselors and students with the means to quickly apply the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics to practice and to professional roles and activities. It contains on-point recommendations for each standard of the Code, a decision-making model, and a listing of ethics resources. Part I presents each section of the Code, along with a brief commentary that emphasizes its most essential elements, common ethical dilemmas and problems relevant to that section, and specific strategies for risk prevention and positive practice. Part II contains ethical guidance sections focused on areas that counselors often encounter in their work, including culture and diversity, confidentiality and exceptions to confidentiality, counseling suicidal clients, multiple relation­ships in counseling, competence, supervision, managed care, termination and abandonment, and how to respond to an ethics complaint or malpractice suit. New to this edition is a section titled "Integrating Technology into Counseling Practice." 

This book offers an introduction to values and ethics in counselling and psychotherapy, helping you to develop the ethical awareness needed throughout the counselling process. The book covers: - Context and emergence of ethics in counselling; Exercises to explore personal and professional values; Tools to develop ethical mindfulness; Differences between therapeutic models: Relational ethics; Ethical dilemmas and issues; and Practice issues including confidentiality, boundaries and autonomy versus beneficence. Using in-depth case studies of counselling students, the author demonstrates the constant relevance of values and ethics to counselling and psychotherapy, equipping trainees with the tools to successfully navigate values and ethics in their professional practice.