MGT3172: Guides and Handbooks

The second edition of a fact-laced guide, this is a leader's concise handbook to the process of creating and managing an organization that will achieve competitive advantages and be poised to respond effectively and rapidly to customer demands.

In "Winning the Reputation Game", Grahame Dowling explains that company reputations are not derived from consultant-recommended campaigns to showcase efforts at corporate transparency, environmental sustainability, or social responsibility. Companies are admired and respected because they are simply better than their competitors. Companies that focus on providing outstanding goods and services are rewarded with a strong reputation that helps them gain competitive advantage.

Traditional boundaries of industries no longer define competition; businesses have to deal with partners who are both friends and enemies; competitive advantage does not come from low-cost or product differentiation strategies; how companies create and capture value is dramatically changing. This book shows how to rethink the four fundamental pillars of business to reinvent business for this new world.

Optimizing Organization Design offers a comprehensive resource and valued guide for anyone interested in improving organization performance. The book presents an approach to optimizing organization design that is based on over 100 large scale projects and 23 research studies that have been completed by Capelle Associates over the past 25 years.

HR departments endeavour to occupy strategic roles in organizations, a goal that is seldom or ever realized. James and Lori Spina bring their academic and corporate backgrounds together to analyse and direct on how strategic human resources cohesively contribute towards gaining competitive advantage, above average profits, building and retaining talent, sustaining financial strength, and addressing challenges of stakeholder satisfaction.

In a world adapting to continuous change and disruption, delivering a great employee experience is vital. How can organizations create an experience that enables their people to thrive; an experience that unlocks productivity and creates competitive advantage? Employee Experience by Design is a practical guide for HR professionals, business leaders and anyone needing to create an employee experience that empowers people to perform at their best.

The comprehensive guide to managing and leading companies that compete internationally. Drawing on the course material developed at the Harvard Business School and Yale School of Management by David Collis, International Strategy provides theoretical insight and pragmatic tools that address the decisions facing senior managers in multinational corporations.

In view of today's fierce competition from US and Southeast Asian corporations, this book highlights global business development policies based on innovation, sustainability and intangible assets. The book assesses competitive business management from a global perspective, examining business development policies linked to the profitability of global firms.

How do firms compete? How do firms earn above normal returns? What's needed to sustain superior performance long term? An increasingly powerful answer to these fundamental questions of business strategy lies in the concept of dynamic capabilities. These are the skills, processes, routines, organizational structures, and disciplines that enable firms to build, employ, and orchestrate intangible assets relevant to satisfying customer needs, and which cannot be readily replicated by competitors.

This original and ambitious work provides a fascinating examination of organizations from both a post-modern and new organizational economics perspective. Combining strategy, international business and organisational theory, it represents a ground-breaking critique of prevailing mainstream modernist theories of organization.

There's no such thing as a healthy plateau. In today's high-pressure environment, simply “making the numbers” is no longer enough to remain competitive. Instead, exceeding expectations, raising the already high bar, and achieving more than others thought possible is the new path toward sustaining success. But doing so is certainly easier said than done! It requires a clear and objective view of the business and the ability to analyze appropriately the dimensions of talent, strategy, and execution in order to produce a baseline score to work from. Knowing that even the most courageous and objective leader can't steer a ship in the dark, The Scorecard Solution is the solution for getting one started on this necessary task for every company's long-lasting success.

Discover what's possible when the art and science of marketing collide The Marketing Performance Blueprint is an actionable and innovative guide to unlocking your potential as a marketer and accelerating success for your business. With an eye toward the marketing industry's rapid evolution, this book focuses on the processes, technologies, and strategies that are redefining the marketing environment. Step by step, you will learn how to build performance-driven organizations that exceed ROI expectations and outpace the competition.

As the pace of change in the workplace accelerates and training budgets are challenged, it becomes essential for employees to learn as they go along. In this connected world, new ways of learning are emerging all of the time, whether the learning is planned, unexpected or self-directed. For those responsible for learning and development in organizations, understanding how this kind of informal learning can be utilised and measured is key to providing efficient and cost-effective ways of delivering on organizational objectives around people development.

A practical handbook for making management great again, Managing for Happiness offers a complete set of practices for more effective management that makes work fun. Work and fun are not polar opposites; they're two sides of the same coin, and making the workplace a pleasant place to be keeps employees motivated and keeps customers coming back for more. It's not about gimmicks or "perks" that disrupt productivity; it's about finding the passion that drives your organization and making it contagious.

Innovative Change Management (ICM) represents the accumulated wisdom and knowledge of one of the world's foremost performance improvement specialists. It includes a clear and thorough explanation of the necessary critical tools for creating a system that results in a much higher percentage of your initiatives progressing to successful projects.

To solve the leadership crisis, organizations need to put people at the center of their strategy. They need to develop managers and executives who lead with three core mental qualities: mindfulness, selflessness, and compassion.Using real-world inspirational examples from Marriott, Accenture, McKinsey & Company, LinkedIn, and many more, The Mind of the Leader shows how this new kind of leadership turns conventional leadership thinking upside down. It represents a radical redefinition of what it takes to be an effective leader--and a practical, hard-nosed solution to every organization's engagement and execution problems.

Learn from the Best. Great leaders of innovation know that creativity is not enough. They succeed not only on the basis of their ideas, but because they have the vision, reputation, and networks to win the backing needed to commercialize them. It turns out that this quality--called "innovation capital" --is measurably more important for innovation than just being creative.

Winner of CMI Management Book of the Year 2019. Based on an in-depth analysis of over 2,600 leaders drawn from a database of more than 17,000 CEOs and C-suite executives, as well 13,000 hours of interviews, and two decades of experience advising CEOs and executive boards, Elena L. Botelho and Kim R. Powell overturn the myths about what it takes to get to the top and succeed.

Motivated staff are the lifeblood of every business. With the right talent and an engaged team, your company will be empowered to beat the competition and grow its market share. Effective People Management covers all the crucial aspects of people management and maintaining high performance.