CSL6745: Guides and Handbooks

Designed for practitioners who work with the gifted, this volume is intended to serve as a practical and easy-to-use resource for working with gifted students, their teachers, and their parents and families. It provides timely, practical, evidence-based techniques and guidelines to help these practitioners better help an underserved group. The book is written in a user-friendly style that makes this a quick, simple, and easy reference. Topics covered include identification and assessment of gifted students; important information for understanding the needs of the gifted; counseling and psychotherapy strategies; career counseling for gifted and talented students; methods for working with the families of the gifted; and legally-correct and ethically-smart counseling techniques.

Schools across the United States - as well as much of the world - are experiencing widespread change. Students are more diverse ethnically, academically, and emotionally. More attention is being paid to abuse and neglect, violence and bullying, and the growing inequities that contribute to student dropout. Within this changing landscape, cultural competence is imperative for school-based professionals, both ethically and as mandated by educational reform. The Handbook of Culturally Responsive School Mental Health explores the academic and behavioral challenges of an increasingly diverse school environment, offering workable, cost-effective solutions in an accessible, well-organized format. This volume updates the research on cultural competence in school-based interventions, describes innovative approaches to counseling and classroom life, and demonstrates how this knowledge is used in successful programs with children, adolescents, and their families. Populations covered range widely, from African American and Asian American/Pacific Islander families to forced migrants and children who live on military bases. By addressing issues of training and policy as well as research and practice, contributors present a variety of topics that are salient, engaging, and applicable to contemporary experience.

This text promotes the transformation of our the school counseling profession in what promises to be an unprecedented era by addressing the established and developing best practices significant to maturing the profession. In this way The New Era of School Counseling: A Practical Guide, is much like its predecessor The New School Counselor: Strategies for Universal Academic Achievement. Also like its predecessor, this text uses a how-to-do-it approach with real world applications that equip school counselors with the knowledge and strategies grounded in ASCA National Model (ASCA, 2012) and deemed essential by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP, 2009). A glossary of frequently used terminology and acronyms in school settings are new to this edition.

The third edition of this widely adopted text covers the philosophical foundations and nuts-and-bolts of using solution-focused counseling to help preschool-12 students resolve problems. The author's practical and respectful approach has been successfully applied throughout the world by school counselors, counselors-in-training, psychologists, social workers, teachers, administrators, and clinicians who work with young clients. His empowering techniques help students focus on doing what works as simply and efficiently as possible by using their strengths, resources, wisdom, and feedback. This edition includes new chapters and information on the restrictive influence of problems, strategies for building positive relationships, collecting client feedback to monitor and improve services, and co-constructing solvable problems and reachable goals. Real-life case examples, sample dialog from counseling sessions, discussion and practice exercises, troubleshooting tips, and new and expanded appendixes enhance the book's classroom and clinical utility.

The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner, Second Edition provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies. New edition features empirically supported, evidence-based treatment interventions including coverage of disruptive classroom behaviors, reinforcing student success, bullying, peer conflict, and school violence Organized around 33 behaviorally based presenting problems in treating students who experience social and emotional difficulties, including social maladjustment, learning difficulties, depression, substance abuse, family instability, and others. Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions-plus space to record your own treatment plan options. Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plan components by behavioral problem Includes a sample treatment plan that conforms to the requirements of most third-party payors and accrediting agencies including CARF. The Joint Commission (TJC), COA, and the NCQA Additional resources include: Documentation Sourcebooks providing the forms and records that mental health professionals need to efficiently run their practice, and homework planners featuring behaviorally based, ready-to-use assignments to speed treatment and keep clients engaged between sessions.

This book is designed as a nuts and bolts guide for school counselors. The author highlights for secondary school counselors the "how's" and "why's" for using group counseling intervention to help the increasing numbers of troubled teenagers. Group counseling intervention is ideally suited to reach many more students than one-on-one counseling, and it offers busy counselors a positive way to maximize their outreach services. This book contains specific steps in developing a successful group program that comes to the aid of troubled teens and, in the process, helps create a school environment where students can learn, teachers can teach, administrators can lead, and parents can learn how to better help their children.

This powerful reference explores the processes and practices of family systems therapy as conducted in humanitarian situations across the globe. It follows the editors' previous volume Family Therapy in Global Humanitarian Contexts: Voices and Issues from the Field in defining systemic therapy as multidisciplinary, portable, and universal, regardless of how far from traditional clinical settings it is applied. Chapters from diverse locales document remarkable examples of courage and resilience on the part of therapists as well as clients in the face of war, unjust policies, extreme inequities, and natural disasters. Contributors describe choosing and implementing interventions to fit both complex immediate challenges and their local contexts as they work to provide systemic family and public mental health services, including: Assisting families of missing persons in Cyprus; Emergency counseling after a Florida school shooting; Therapeutic metaphors in a Lebanese refugee camp; Sessions with separated family members on the U.S./Mexico border; Addressing healthcare disparities in the Caribbean; Training family therapists in Sri Lanka; Family and community support during the Ebola epidemic in Guinea; Providing systemically oriented therapy and supervision in high-conflict countries; and Risk assessment using emerging media in Chilean communities

Fully revised in accordance with the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and the current ethical codes of other mental health organizations, Boundary Issues in Counseling reflects the helping profession's most up-to-date thinking on this topic and offers a wide range of opinions and perspectives. Ethics experts Barbara Herlihy and Gerald Corey, along with 40 guest contributors, share their thoughts on the ethical issues surrounding sexual dual relationships; multiculturalism and social justice; counselor education, supervision, and consultation; group counseling; couples and family counseling; and school counseling. In addition, coverage extends to specialty areas, such as disaster mental health, private practice, addictions and rehabilitation counseling, rural practice, counseling in the military and forensic counseling. This highly regarded book is essential reading for counselors struggling to find a clear personal position on the myriad issues that can arise with multiple relationships. It is also an ideal supplemental text for courses in ethics and professional issues, as well as for practicum and internship seminars to train the next generation of counselors.

The latest volume of Research in Ethical Issues in Organizations addresses a range of contemporary issues in applied and professional ethics and explores the unique role of organizational ethics in creating and sustaining a pluralistic, free enterprise economy. It is ideally suited to researchers, postgraduates and professionals whose interests include such key issues as global justice, information sharing, business and mental health, corporate and institutional privacy, and tax avoidance.

An engaging way to cover ethical choices in counseling settings This guide will take readers on a wide-ranging tour of ethics--covering both the theoretical and practical aspects of providing sound, ethical care. In addition to invaluable information, this book provides access to chapter objectives, candid case studies, stories from both students and counselors, questions for reflection, and student discussion activities. Coverage goes beyond a laundry-list approach to rules of conduct, and plumbs the philosophical roots embedded in today's professional codes. Engaging case studies explore how ethical rules and principles apply in various real-world settings and specialties. After covering ethical philosophies, codes, and standards, Becoming an Ethical Helping Professional further discusses the helping relationship from beginning to end; confidentiality and trust; boundaries, roles, and limits; assessment - peering through the right lens; and research, efficacy, and competence.

Useful for all counselors, clinicians and counselors-in-training, the 7th edition of this fully updated text provides a detailed examination of the newly revised ACA Code of Ethics. Find out what is new in the 2014 Code and which sections have undergone the most significant revision to ensure understanding of and compliance with the most current ethical standards in the field.

Therapy with Children and Young People addresses the practice of child therapy in school settings in a unique level of detail. The authors adopt a broad ecosystematic, integrative approach that considers the influence of family, school and the wider community, placing emphasis on significant development and attachment issues. As well as providing a solid ground in developmental theory, the authors explore the contextual and professional issues of working in a school setting. A wide range of activities and exercises (including using the creative arts to engage with young people through play, story, metaphor and imagery) help to apply theory to practice in a new way. Challenging ethical dilemmas, such as sharing sensitive information and communicating with parents and teachers, are explored with the support of lively case studies. Covering therapy with children from infant to secondary school, this book will be an essential resource for those wishing to work therapeutically in schools.