CSL6765: Guides and Handbooks

The treatment team is an essential component of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). This much-needed resource from Jennifer H. R. Sayrs and DBT originator Marsha M. Linehan explains how DBT teams work, ways in which they differ from traditional consultation teams, and how to establish an effective team culture. The book addresses the role of the DBT team leader; the structure of meetings; the use of DBT strategies within teams; identifying and resolving common team problems; and important functions before, during, and after suicide crises. User-friendly features include end-of-chapter exercises and reproducible handouts and forms. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials.

This timesaving resource features: Treatment plan components for 27 behaviorally based presenting problems; Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options; A step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most accrediting bodies, insurance companies, and third-party payors; It also includes new Evidence-Based Practice Interventions as required by many public funding sources and private insurers. The planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies. New edition features empirically supported, evidence-based treatment interventions and is organized around 27 behaviorally based presenting problems including child abuse and neglect, adult and child suicide, job loss, disaster, PTSD, sexual assault, school trauma including bullying, sudden and accidental death, and workplace violence. Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record treatment plan options.

Crisis Assessment, Intervention, and Prevention by Lisa Jackson-Cherry and Bradley Erford is the most effective training tool available for various mental health professionals preparing to help in crisis situations. A concise and informative resource, this textbook is filled with vital information on assessing and reacting to various crises of our time, presenting the most important topics related to successfully intervening and responding in a series of crisis situations that warrant adequate preparation by helping professionals from all subsets of the community. Uniquely, the book includes perspectives and roles of clinical mental health counselors, school counselors, and pastoral counselors when assisting in crisis situations, and includes vital information on assessing and reacting to various crises. The topics cover the basics and overview of crisis intervention, how to react, the essentials of crisis intervention, understanding grief and loss, intervening with clients who are suicidal, the violence between intimate partners, child victims of sexual assault and abuse, adult sexual assault and sexual abuse victims, addressing substance abuse and dependence within the crisis context, emergency preparedness, and counseling military families. The authors also address topics such as death notifications, diagnostic impressions, and homicidal risk assessment, field experiences, and diverse activities, and integrate the approaches from various counseling specialties.

An indispensable handbook for assisting clients in crisis and in their journey toward healing Integrating practical training with both research and theory, Fundamentals of Crisis Counseling offers students and professionals proven hands-on techniques to assist clients in recovery from crisis and towards an eventual return to their day-to-day lives. Written in the author's gentle yet purposeful voice, this reader-friendly guide is filled with lessons on current evidence-based counseling, how to operate as a client stress manager, and information on finding resources that facilitate client resilience. In addition, the author helps counselors improve counseling effectiveness by gaining a better understanding of their own strengths and weaknesses and emphasizes the importance of self-care. Stemming from the author's thirty-five years of experience as a crisis counselor, this book contains valuable information on: Crisis theory and intervention models; Concepts, techniques, assessment, and treatment for disaster mental health work; Legal and ethical concerns regarding working with individuals, groups, couples, and families; Assessment and instrument selection; Multicultural crisis counseling techniques centered on age, gender, sexual orientation, and ethnicity; and Counselor self-care complete with case studies and examples.

Featuring new chapters on bullying, sexual assault, natural disasters, eating disorders, and cultural considerations, the second edition of this highly popular handbook provides a one-stop reference for mental health professionals who face a bewildering variety of school-based crises. Key features include a focus on both prevention and intervention and ongoing discussions of the research that underlies best practice. Like the first edition, chapters follow a parallel structure that includes: *the incidence, prevalence, and impact of the crisis; *theories regarding precipitating factors; *discussion of who is at risk for encountering the crisis; *primary prevention activities; *methods of working with high-risk clients; *developmentally-appropriate methods and intervention activities for individuals; and *developmentally-appropriate methods and activities for groups. The result is an unusually coherent volume that is suitable for graduate work in school psychology, school counseling, school social work, and school nursing, or as a reference work for in-service practitioners.

Since the first edition was published in 1988, the role of crisis intervention and prevention has become central to mental health professionals working in the schools. Disasters such as hurricane Katrina, terrorist attacks both in this country and around the world, and various school shootings have greatly increased school crisis research and policy development. This book is designed for an introductory graduate course taken by students in school psychology, school counseling, and school social work. Section I provides a crisis response overview, section II deals with crises for children and adolescents and section III covers crises that manifest in adolescence. Discussions of the 16 most prevalent types of crises are covered in sections II and III and include their characteristics, causes, interventions, and preventive programs. All chapters have been updated, six heavily revised or totally rewritten by new authors, and two new chapters (chapters 8 & 19) have been added.

The first in-depth look of the effects of September 11 on occupational therapy. Surviving 9/11: Impact and Experiences of Occupational Therapy Practitioners is a collection of firsthand accounts from occupational therapy providers and their clients. This book reveals the thoughts and fears of occupational therapists who had to help heal their patients while suffering emotional and psychological stress themselves. This volume shows how occupational therapy practitioners dealt with the aftermath using group discussions, planned events, and creative projects to heal themselves as well as their clients. Surviving 9/11 demonstrates the importance of therapeutic treatment for all types of victims of the attacks, from survivors to television observers. It discusses how distinct each client's needs are from the survivor in the hospital bed to the firefighter endlessly searching for his lost brothers. This book will also show the importance of changing therapeutic styles during the lengthy coping process to adapt to the changing needs of the client. Surviving 9/11 is a unique blend of personal and professional perspectives designed to help counselors get in touch with personal feelings and thoughts about what happened on September 11. More importantly, this easy-to-read book can help prepare for future disasters, whether someone is a healthcare professional, a disabled person, a survivor, or someone who is otherwise affected.

Unlike books focusing on a single crisis topic, Crisis helps recognize common signs of endangerment across a range of life challenges by showing the interconnections between various harmful events. Through media coverage of school shootings, suicides, domestic abuse, workplace violence, and more, we've become accustomed to hearing about violence and trauma-almost invariably followed by reports that show all of the warning signs that were missed. While it is impossible to predict when, where, and with whom a crisis will occur, we do have the means to be better equipped to intervene in stressful situations before they evolve into a crisis. Important preventative information is readily available, and this book better prepares us to take appropriate responsive action. Often a crisis is the result of a critical life event; whether or not a life-changing event turns into a crisis depends on the type, timing, and interpretation of the event, the person's life cycle development phase, history of healthy coping, and available timely support. In sum, Lee Ann Hoff illustrates how to recognize crisis as both danger and opportunity. The more we know about how to spot a potential crisis and what to do, the more likely distressed persons will get the help they need.

Grounded in the best science available, this essential volume presents practical guidelines for effective clinical intervention in the immediate, intermediate, and long-term aftermath of large-scale traumatic events. Vital lessons learned from a variety of mass traumas and natural disasters are incorporated into the book's thorough review of strategies for helping specific victim and survivor populations. The editors and authors include over 40 leading experts in disaster mental health. Of crucial importance, they clearly summarize the empirical evidence supporting each intervention and provide other guidance based on experience and consensus recommendations.

This text provides professionals with the skills needed to effectively assist survivors of disasters, including Hurricane Katrina, with healing, recovery, and resilience. This comprehensive collection includes powerful, direct accounts of first responders and the organizations they represent. Taking a practical, skill-building approach, it offers clear and pragmatic recommendations to help providers, educators, advocates, and policymakers better understand how to meet the needs of children, families, and communities in the aftermath of disasters. Key Features of volume are; Providing a substantial review of the current theoretical and research literature on disasters and disaster response; Emphasizes multicultural competency in the aftereffects of disasters; Uses a practical skill-building approach to develop competencies in crisis work; and Covers the spiritual dimensions of healing as well as funeral practices to encourage discussion on grief and mourning. This book is a must-have reference for mental health practitioners... and even for graduate students of counseling, psychology, or social work because it will clarify how theory and research can be applied to practice and policy.

In a timely book with powerful and persuasive message, Dr. Harold G. Koenig addresses federal, state, and local government policy leaders, urging them to more fully integrate religious organizations into the formal disaster response system, and he then provides recommendations on how this can effectively be done. Koenig also advocates faith communities and organizations to learn more about the role they can play in responding to disasters and terrorism. The chaotic aftermath of Hurricane Katrina made extraordinarily clear the gaps in the United States' disaster policies. At the same time, the contributions of organized faith communities were highlights amidst the bungled federal, state, and local responses. One example is the New York Times, September 9, 2005, headline: "A New Meaning for 'Organized Religion': It Helps the Needy Quickly." But as faith-based organizations look for ways to help, there are few, if any, guidelines for them. This book provides information on the psychological, social, and spiritual responses to trauma. It addresses how the emergency response system works, and the role that religious communities can play in disaster response and recovery in terms of providing emotional and spiritual care for victims. It advocates integrating mental health into emergency response systems directed at those affected by hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, and terrorism. He says, "The aim is to help victims of disaster to better cope with the stresses they face, as well as help direct care workers (firefighters, police, health care providers, etc.) to deal better emotionally with the trauma to which they are exposed so they can remain effective and functional on the job." Dr. Koenig, whose research on the healing power of faith has been published worldwide, feels that religious communities have tremendous potential to contribute to this. Here are guidelines on how to do that more effectively, alongside data on how to facilitate the integration of these contributions with the formal disaster-response system.

Learn intervention strategies to counter the effects of terrorism in this work delving into a twenty-first century where terrorism has become an international scourge devastating individuals, crippling societies, and weakening nations. The Trauma of Terrorism: Sharing Knowledge and Shared Care provides a comprehensive, penetrating look at the effects of terrorism, at the prevention and treatment of immediate and long-term sequelae, at preparedness for terrorism, and at the range of individual, community, and national responses. International authorities discuss the latest knowledge and research about terror, its root causes, and its psychological impact on individuals, families, societies, and nations, as well as the societal and political responses and services that may help lessen its impact. This compendium explores numerous issues in detail, such as the nature and psychology of terrorism, how to foster a community''s capacity for resilience, the psychosocial consequences of terrorism in children and adults, the centrality of traumatic grief, the need for multicultural understanding in services and treatment, interventions for children and adolescents, training programs for mental health professionals, and proactive community organization in the face of terrorism. Treatment options and services are thoroughly explored and their effectiveness evaluated.

Crisis Education and Service Program Designs is a guide for educators, administrators, and clinical trainers who may otherwise feel ill-prepared for the complex tasks of teaching, program development, supervision, and consultation in the crisis-care arena. The book provides a framework for more systematic inclusion of crisis content in health and human-service programs. Readers will find that this book fills the current gaps in knowledge and training, and fosters a more holistic practice by all human-service professionals. It shows how effective leadership, training, and timely support contribute to crisis workers' effective practice with people in crisis.

This authoritative book will be of interest to anyone involved in studying the mental health consequences of large-scale traumatic events or in measuring the effectiveness of postdisaster interventions. The book considers disasters from different perspectives and translates their chaotic aftermath into feasible research ideas and approaches. Contributing authors, all experienced researchers and practitioners, present a wide range of methods and strategies used in epidemiology, program evaluation, and public mental health planning in the aftermath of natural or technological disasters and terrorism. Descriptions of exemplary studies bring to life the associated logistical and scientific challenges and show how these challenges can be addressed using high-quality research designs.

A basic introduction to trauma is shared in this work which should be an interesting read for those new to this field. The author discusses the impact of traumatic events and the key principles underlying acute crisis work. Case study examples are used as well to illustrate the main features of traumatic situations and ways of processing such experiences, as well as the practical implications for crisis support. Text offers therapists, clients, and policy makers a view of how to deal with the "bolts from the blue" they can face, providing more understanding of the nature of trauma and its effects upon individual and communities. Salli Saari has put together a book that looks at the processing of a traumatic event, the effects of it upon adults and children, how to work with a traumatised person, and the impact of interventions upon the individual.

Richard James and Burl Gilliland give readers key concepts and theories as well as the specific strategies, skills, techniques - and even actual dialogues - that can be used in crisis intervention situations. Book provides an introduction to the latest topics, research, theories, and techniques of this evolving field, along with case material from real crisis situations. Authoritative, class-tested, and based on the authors' extensive experience teaching crisis intervention courses, the book includes information on cutting-edge topics such as cybercounseling via the Internet and compassion fatigue.