CSL6779: Guides and Handbooks

This timesaving resource features: Treatment plan components for 27 behaviorally based presenting problems; Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options; A step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most accrediting bodies, insurance companies, and third-party payors; It also includes new Evidence-Based Practice Interventions as required by many public funding sources and private insurers. The planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payors, and state and federal agencies. New edition features empirically supported, evidence-based treatment interventions and is organized around 27 behaviorally based presenting problems including child abuse and neglect, adult and child suicide, job loss, disaster, PTSD, sexual assault, school trauma including bullying, sudden and accidental death, and workplace violence. Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record treatment plan options.

Featuring new chapters on bullying, sexual assault, natural disasters, eating disorders, and cultural considerations, the second edition of this highly popular handbook provides a one-stop reference for mental health professionals who face a bewildering variety of school-based crises. Key features include a focus on both prevention and intervention and ongoing discussions of the research that underlies best practice. Like the first edition, chapters follow a parallel structure that includes: *the incidence, prevalence, and impact of the crisis; *theories regarding precipitating factors; *discussion of who is at risk for encountering the crisis; *primary prevention activities; *methods of working with high-risk clients; *developmentally-appropriate methods and intervention activities for individuals; and *developmentally-appropriate methods and activities for groups. The result is an unusually coherent volume that is suitable for graduate work in school psychology, school counseling, school social work, and school nursing, or as a reference work for in-service practitioners.

Since the first edition was published in 1988, the role of crisis intervention and prevention has become central to mental health professionals working in the schools. Disasters such as hurricane Katrina, terrorist attacks both in this country and around the world, and various school shootings have greatly increased school crisis research and policy development. This book is designed for an introductory graduate course taken by students in school psychology, school counseling, and school social work. Section I provides a crisis response overview, section II deals with crises for children and adolescents and section III covers crises that manifest in adolescence. Discussions of the 16 most prevalent types of crises are covered in sections II and III and include their characteristics, causes, interventions, and preventive programs. All chapters have been updated, six heavily revised or totally rewritten by new authors, and two new chapters (chapters 8 & 19) have been added.

Social anxiety disorder causes significant distress and academic impairment for many adolescents. This unique book gives front-line school professionals innovative, easy-to-use tools for identifying and intervening with socially anxious students in grades 6-12. It presents Skills for Academic and Social Success (SASS), a school-based intervention with demonstrated effectiveness. Case examples and sample scripts demonstrate how to implement psychoeducation, cognitive strategies, social skills training, exposure, and relapse prevention with groups and individual students. In a large-size format for easy photocopying, the book includes 22 reproducible handouts. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in Schools Series, edited by Sandra M. Chafouleas.

This book shows psychologists and other mental health providers how to assess and treat emotional and behavioral problems in classrooms, including those arising from autism diagnoses. The emotional and behavioral problems of students in the classroom are a major concern for teachers, parents, and administrators. Fifty years of scientific research supports the efficacy of behavioral interventions in the classroom, yet school psychologists and teachers are often unaware of this evidence or of how to apply it. As diagnoses of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) continue to rise, school psychologists today must have the theoretical and practical knowledge to assess, treat, and intervene on behalf of all children, including those with ASD. This fully updated second edition includes new chapters on screening and diagnosis of ASD, discrete trials training, pivotal response training, verbal behavior interventions, and structured teaching approaches.

Lessons from School Psychology presents practical advice and evidence-based strategies for school-based professionals and parents to utilize when dealing with challenging and worrisome behavior in children and adolescents. Structured around a series of timely topics facing schools today, chapters cover everything from bullying and racial incidents to substance abuse and suicide prevention. This unique resource integrates proven models and strategies from school psychology practice in an accessible format that highlights key takeaways and valuable lessons for teachers, counselors, social workers, administration, or anyone looking to help a young person in their life.

Are you thinking about school counseling as a profession or just starting as a school counselor? Okay, maybe you're already an established school counselor; congratulations! However, are you feeling stuck, lost, or frustrated in your present position? If you answer yes to either question, this book is for you. Enjoy your journey towards a personal and professional reawakening! HINT: If you are an administrator, this book will help you understand the role of a counselor; correctly utilizing your counseling staff will increase the effectiveness of your school. If you are a teacher, this book will help you comprehend the multiple roles of counselors and guide you in working collaboratively with them. Finally, parents, you can use this book too! It will help you understand what it takes for your son/daughter [in middle school or high school] to be a successful student. When you grasp that, your guidance will become more impactful.

This book provides a solution-focused approach to working alongside students, parents, and teachers that decreases misbehaviors, encourages mental health and growth mindset in students, and provides social emotional learning opportunities. Grounded in the notion that focusing on problems often leads to frustration when tried and true remedies fail, the book provides an efficient and simple three-step approach to having solution-focused conversations with students, parents, and in response to intervention (RTI) and team meetings. This systemic approach enlists the client rather than the counselor to conjure a preferred plan for success, consequently reducing future counseling visits and promoting independent success in students. Each chapter includes a specific topic that was developed from the issues and situations faced by school counselors today, including consideration for working with all students, including LGBTQ students, and those with traumatic experiences or substance abuse. Complete with specific dialogues for students of all ages, and case studies, this text provides school counselors with a road map to looking beyond problems and seeking solutions with students, creating grit and resilience.

Educators and counselors and advocates for the famiy all know bullying impacts the academic and emotional lives of young people. We see it in the schools and hear about it in the news. If we know it's a problem, why is it still happening? Often it's because we fail to address the individuals at the heart of the problem--the kids who engage in the behavior. In Working With Kids Who Bully the author challenges us to shift thinking about these youth and offers innovative approaches to help kids pull back from and stop bullying. Readers will find; Information on a range of topics impacting schools today, including cyberbullying, relational aggression, mediation, building empathy, and bibliomedia therapy; Strategies and sample dialogue to use when intervening with kids who bully; and Diagrams and charts to clarify suggested approaches at intervention. This is written by one of the nation's foremost experts on bullying and is designed to stimulate change and ultimately help create safer learning environments for all kids.

Setting out a year-long curriculum based program for education and youth professionals, this book provides a challenging and engaging workshop-based approach to developing school engagement and ambitions in young people aged 11-18. The program, which is informed by CBT, helps professionals to understand barriers to young people's engagement and learning. It outlines a case for a practical, well-rounded curriculum that readies students for life post-education through eight core themes, including 'believing in me', 'money matters' and 'business basics'. The second part of the book is a photocopiable manual for use in classroom settings, making this an essential, hands-on manual for nurturing young people's life skills.

The School Counselor's Desk Reference and Credentialing Examination Study Guide, Second Edition, is designed to build knowledge and skills for professionals through end-of-chapter practice tests on the latest ASCA School Counselor Competencies, CACREP Standards, and the CAEP and NBPTS Standards. Included as well is a full-length practice exam with exam answers and rationales, guided reflections, and case studies. Additional resources include a glossary of important terms and a list of commonly used acronyms within the profession. This revised volume effectively prepares students for the Praxis II Professional School Counseling exams (5421 & 0420), NBPTS School Counseling National Certification exam, School Counselor Preparation Comprehensive exams, and state-specific certification exams for the professional practice of school counseling.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to school guidance and counselling services, drawing extensively on current research in the field, with a special emphasis on how guidance and counselling could be systematically planned to meet the personal, social and educational and career needs of students. The chapters discuss how counselling could be infused into school activities by employing a team approach, wherein all staff members have specified roles to play. The book also focuses on the Confucian heritage practices in Chinese societies, such as the emphasis on examinations, the contestations between discipline and guidance, and the role of class teachers in school guidance.

The third edition of this widely adopted text covers the philosophical foundations and nuts-and-bolts of using solution-focused counseling to help preschool-12 students resolve problems. The author's practical and respectful approach has been successfully applied throughout the world by school counselors, counselors-in-training, psychologists, social workers, teachers, administrators, and clinicians who work with young clients. His empowering techniques help students focus on doing what works as simply and efficiently as possible by using their strengths, resources, wisdom, and feedback. This edition includes new chapters and information on the restrictive influence of problems, strategies for building positive relationship, collecting client feedback to monitor and improve services, and co-constructing solvable problems and reachable goals. Real-life case examples, sample dialog from counseling sessions, discussion and practice exercises, troubleshooting tips, and new and expanded appendixes enhance the book's classroom and clinical utility.

This is the only text to address child and adolescent psychopathology from the viewpoint of the school psychologist. Integrating, comparing, and distinguishing DSM-5 diagnoses from IDEA disability classifications, it provides a comprehensive overview of mental health conditions in this population. This book addresses the impact of these conditions at school and at home, along with a description of practical, evidence-based educational and mental health interventions that can be implemented in school environments. It addresses the role of the school psychologist and details a variety of educational supports and school-based mental health services as they apply to specific conditions. This resource provides comprehensive coverage of school psychologists' responsibilities, including assessment, educational and skill-based interventions and supports, consulting with key stakeholders, and advocacy. Case studies address classification issues and varied approaches psychologists can use to support students. Chapters provide a variety of features to reinforce knowledge, including quick facts, discussion questions, and sources for additional resources. Instructor's ancillaries include instructor's manual, test questions, and mapping to NASP domains as well as PowerPoints and a test bank.

Though schools have become the default mental health providers for children and adolescents, they are poorly equipped to meet the mental health needs of their students. Evidence-Based Practice in School Mental Health differs from other books that address child and adolescent psychopathology by focusing on how to help students with mental disorders in pre-K-12th-grade schools. Chapters address the prevalence of a disorder in school-age populations, appropriate diagnostic criteria, differential diagnosis, comorbid disorders, available rapid assessment instruments, school-based interventions using multi-tiered systems of support, and easy-to-follow suggestions for progress monitoring. Additionally, the text shares detailed suggestions for how school-based clinicians can collaborate with teachers, parents, and community providers to address the needs of youth with mental health problems. Each chapter finishes with extensive web resources and real-life case examples drawn from the author's clinical practice. This book will serve as a helpful resource for school-based mental health providers (e.g., school social workers, school psychologists, and school counselors), communities-in-schools coordinators, and MSW students focusing on child and adolescent mental health.

Evaluations of school-based interventions are and should be conducted in order to examine the programme effectiveness and whether and how these programmes should be implemented in schools. Over the last century Randomised Controlled Trials (RCTs) have been seen as the 'gold standard' for evaluation, however How to Evaluate the Effectiveness of a School-Based Intervention presents a multi-dimensional evaluation framework, which is based largely on measurable outcomes. According to this framework, the evaluation of a programme should combine different methods and perspectives, and should examine the impact of the programme on many student's skills prior to reaching a conclusion of whether and how a programme should be implemented. Suggesting a cost-effective method of conducting a multi-dimensional evaluation research study, in order to include the examination of the impact of the programme on students' thinking skills, this book investigates how these skills can be defined and assessed and presents a step-by-step guide by demonstrating how the multi-dimensional evaluation of the Philosophy for Children programme was conducted.

Drawing on the author's cutting-edge research, this practical book helps teachers better understand the causes of bullying, gives them confidence to resolve nuanced cases, and provides them with the tools to develop pupil-led anti-bullying campaigns. This book delves into the complex nature of bullying at school in a clear and approachable way. It helps school staff understand the student's views and experiences of bullying, and how power imbalances and systemic inequalities can contribute to bullying relationships between pupils. The author provides evidence-based interventions that suggest ways teachers can develop knowledge and skills to resolve incidents. Key to this is a new approach to pupil-led interventions which allows staff to harness pupil voices to develop effective anti-bullying strategies. Included are resources and tools to help teachers set up these advisory groups and interventions, and train others to do the same. This is essential reading for teachers looking for a comprehensive and accessible guide to tackling bullying.

A basic introduction to trauma is shared in this work which should be an interesting read for those new to this field. The author discusses the impact of traumatic events and the key principles underlying acute crisis work. Case study examples are used as well to illustrate the main features of traumatic situations and ways of processing such experiences, as well as the practical implications for crisis support. Text offers therapists, clients, and policy makers a view of how to deal with the "bolts from the blue" they can face, providing more understanding of the nature of trauma and its effects upon individual and communities. Salli Saari has put together a book that looks at the processing of a traumatic event, the effects of it upon adults and children, how to work with a traumatised person, and the impact of interventions upon the individual.