Why search here?
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
What's included?
Documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more.
Why search here?
This database offers a wealth of digitized content across disciplines, but is particularly focused on the fields of counseling, anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences.
Why search here?
The CIA World Factbook provides quick stats, as well as in-depth articles related to 266 world entities. The user has the power to search for a specific country or browse countries by list or region.
What's included?
In addition to detailed information on world entities, users can also access travel facts, brief one-page summaries, and country comparisons.
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Why search here?
CQ Researcher contains comprehensive reporting and analysis of issues in today's news. Each topic receives an in-depth and unbiased report that is footnoted and professionally fact checked. Amberton does not currently have a full subscription to this resource, but students can browse topics and review report summaries, making this resource a fabulous place to begin research on current events or narrow your focus.
What's included?
At this time, students can browse topics and view report summaries.
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Why search here?
CREDO is a comprehensive search engine for all areas of knowledge. It combines scholarly articles, videos, magazines, audio, and other primary sources to explain complicated topics in an understandable format. It is also the home of the Mind Map to allow students to virtually narrow search topics and change the search algorithm to update the virtual changes simultaneously .
What's included?
Topical Mind Map capable of user manipulation, scholarly articles, professional magazines and newspapers.
Why search here?
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
What's included?
Provides abstracts of articles and links to the full text. Provides key words on each article that you can click to search other articles for these key words.
DOAJ has journals and articles in 80 languages and from 130 countries. Topics covered by DOAJ includes science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can search for a specific journal or search all articles.
Why search here?
Ebooks on EBSCOhost provides you with frontlist titles from the world's leading publishers to complement any library collection need. Users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer, or can download titles to most popular portable devices.
What's included?
Downloadable fulltexts, preview the Table of Contents, and the option to view the most relevant pages from the eBook. Citation tools and several options for sharing and storing eBooks are also included.
Why search here?
Ebook Central provides content from nearly every publisher all in one database for an easy to use search experience.
What's included? Ability to download or read books online, create digital bookshelves, Table of Contents provided, citation tools, suggested other picks, reader reviews, awards (if any), search by tags, and Altmetric data on the eBook.
Why search here?
This is Gale’s premier periodical resource and provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
What's included?
Full text articles (when selected), scholarly/peer reviewed articles, really great citation, lots of tools for sharing and storing articles.
Why search here?
This is a reader’s advisory database that makes finding a great read much less challenging. Browse through book titles and summaries by title, author, or subject. Offers a host of sharing and citation options.
What's included?
Book summaries with variety of sharing and citation tools
Why search here?
The largest general-interest periodical resource, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality.
What's included?
Reference, newspaper, and audio content from a variety of magazines and journals, full-text and peer-reviewed options when selected, as well as great citation and sharing tools
Why search here?
Gale General Reference eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) offers access to over 100,000 documents, including excerpts, essays, and reference articles on a broad range of subjects. With features like enhanced search and filter tools, as well as a useful Topic Finder, this resource provides an excellent start to any research journey.
What's included?
Topic Finder for narrowing focus, citation tools, Boolean search tips, export and sharing options, "More Like This" list of related sources.
Why search here?
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia.
What's included?
Offering reference content, as well as videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles curated by historical figure, this resource pulls content from across Gale's repertoire of resources and offers the useful citation and sharing tools that come with them.
Why search here?
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
What's included?
Academic journals (with peer reviewed and full-text options available), magazine and journal articles, audio clips, images, primary source documents, and websites, along with Gale's tools for citing and sharing resources, including direct sharing options using Google Drive and OneDrive.
Why search here?
Opposing Viewpoints from Gale Research provides a wealth of resources on current issues from multiple viewpoints. This is a great starting point for a persuasive research paper or analysis of current events.
What's included?
Full-text journal, magazine, newspaper articles; images; videos; radio and television audio recordings
General database of news articles, opinion, and analysis from multiple viewpoints and different understandings.
Why search here?
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
What's included?
Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more. Gale also has citation tools and several exportation options. Users can choose to listen to the text.
(Description taken from Gale's site https://www.gale.com/c/in-context-science)
Why search here?
Going beyond textbooks and traditional science curriculum, Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience.
What's included?
Subject-based searching, interactive lessons and activities, and a variety of sharing options make this a fun and useful resource for science curriculum.
Why search here?
Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented.
What's included?
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines.
Why search here?
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history.
What's included?
Includes more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Researchers can easily target the information they are looking for through various refine search and results limiter options.
Why search here?
GALE Power Search is a cross-search platform that enables users to do one search across multiple GALE databases, including: GALE OneFile database family: Academic OneFile Select, General OneFile, High School Edition, News, and Educator's Reference Complete.
What's included?
This resource boasts all of GALE's powerful search options, including advanced limiters and search tips, as well as sharing and citation options. As with other GALE resources, a user can also save and download personal notes and highlights.
Why search here?
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Students should create a login with their personal Google account credentials to retain their results after graduation.
What's included?
Indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature.
Why search here?
Josh Bersin is a recognized expert in Human Resources and researches multiple topics about business and human resources issues. Dr. Sanchez has indicated that is work is important and helpful in the Human Resources field.
What's included?
Free access to full-text articles (you will have to create the reference citations for articles yourself). Expert author writing currently about issues in Human Resources after decades of experience in worldwide companies. Website is arranged into topical sections that are current and helpful.
Josh is a global research analyst, advisor, and thought leader on a wide range of topics related to corporate human resources, talent management, recruiting, leadership, technology, and the intersection between work and life.
In 2001, Josh founded Bersin & Associates, which became the leading research and advisory company for corporate learning, talent management, and HR. In 2012, Josh sold the company to Deloitte, when it became known as Bersin by Deloitte. As a Deloitte partner, Bersin was involved in many HR and learning engagements and was a principal author of Deloitte’s annual Human Capital Trends Report. He retired from Deloitte in 2018.
In 2019, Josh founded the Josh Bersin Academy, a professional development academy for HR and learning professionals. The Academy offers cohort-based courses covering the fundamentals of topics ranging from people analytics to HR technology to talent acquisition.
In 2020, he put together a team of analysts and advisors who are now working with him to support and guide HR organizations from around the world under the umbrella of The Josh Bersin Company. Recently published research covers topics such as hybrid and deskless work, HR technology market trends, employee experience, and diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Why search here?
JSTOR includes thousands of peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
What's included?
JSTOR's journal collections usually include all issues back to the inception of the journal, contain PDF images of original articles in each issue, and are full-text searchable through each article.
Why search here?
Search the collections of thousands of libraries worldwide, browsing books, A/V materials, articles, and more. Find libraries nearby with the resources you need and place an interlibrary loan request through Amberton.
What's included?
Access to books, A/V material, articles and more through interlibrary loan, direct access to the catalogs of thousands of libraries worldwide.
Why search here?
Pew Research Center offers public opinion polls, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. Users can conveniently conduct keyword searches or browse a topic list.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
Why search here?
ProCon.org by Britannica offers users non-partisan pro/con debates on a variety of issues facing society today. Users can perform a keyword search or browse using several different topic lists. Topic pages include a pro/con list of arguments for each side, as well as historical context and bibliographic information for further research. This would be an excellent starting point for a persuasive essay or analysis of current events.
What's included?
Pro/con topic pages; topic lists sorted alphabetically, by content area, and popularity; bibliographic information
The award-winning ProCon.org website serves more than 20 million people each year, including students and teachers in more than 11,000 schools in all 50 states and 90 countries. Additionally, 37 U.S. state governments, 17 U.S. state departments of education, 31 foreign governments, 25 U.S. federal agencies, and thousands of media articles have cited ProCon.org.
Why search here?
ProQuest’s collections span six centuries, all disciplines and the diverse content types needed by researchers, providing the world’s largest collection of dissertations and theses; three centuries of newspapers; more than 450,000 academic ebooks; collections of important scholarly journals and other content researchers need such as data; and unique digital vaults of primary source materials . ProQuest’s renowned abstracting and indexing enables researchers to find sources in their area of study.
What's included?
Full text articles (when selected), scholarly/peer reviewed articles, really great citation, suggested related items, lots of tools for sharing and storing articles.
Why search here?
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
What's included?
Full text articles (when selected), scholarly/peer reviewed articles, really great citation, suggested related searches and books, lots of tools for sharing and storing articles.
Why search here?
Semantic Scholar is an artificial-intelligence backed search engine for academic publications developed at the Allen Institute for AI and publicly released in November 2015. It uses advances in natural language processing to provide summaries for scholarly papers. Some results may not be accessible through Amberton.
What's included?
View the citation count, related papers, access to some articles in PDF format, citation tools, save records to your account, and create an alert on a record.
Why search here?
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. It combines survey data, market analysis, customer satisfaction, competition analysis, infographics, consumer surveys, market outlooks and forecasts.
What's included?
Narrow results by expert tools, statistics, studies and reports. Recommended additional materials, download materials, and narrow the location focus.
SCI1027 - Ecology: Man and His Enviroment
