ACC6165: Guides and Handbooks

The fully revised and updated Third Edition of this textbook provides an accessible introduction to accounting for students coming to the subject for the first time. It embraces the basic techniques and underlying theoretical concepts in accounting and shows how these are applied in various circumstances. This New Edition incorporates major changes which improve and update the previous edition. It can be easily used by students working on their own, as well as in a classroom environment. It provides: - Fully illustrated & worked examples - Student Activities - End of chapter questions, many of which have been taken from major accounting examination bodies. -The solutions to all activities are given at the end of each chapter, and answers to the end of chapter questions are also supplied. Introduction to Accounting is an essential textbook for undergraduate accounting students. It is designed to meet the needs of both the non-specialist and those intending to specialise in accounting at undergraduate and also postgraduate levels. The Solutions Manual will be available via the SAGE website.

This book investigates the issues raised by the vast array of accounting standards and technical rules which have marked the recent history of accounting. It is argued that the accounting profession is beset by an inferior and incomplete notion of quality in its work which emphasises compliance with processing rules, rather than the correspondence with commercial phenomena necessary to make financial statements reliable guides for human activity.

This e-book seeks to promote not just accounting in the public interest, but accounting(s) that are in the public interest(s). The included studies encourage us to reconsider some of our previously held preconceptions of how accounting impacts public interests. They also challenge us to explore how various public interests impact various aspects of accounting. Through a consideration of the intersection of accounting and the public interest in a variety of settings, these studies remind us of the multi-faceted nature of the nexus between accounting technologies, policies, practices, and society.

An essential, timesaving guide for accountants, lawyers, nonprofit executives and directors, consultants, and volunteers This book is an indispensable guide to navigating the complex maze of nonprofit tax rules and regulations. A clear and fully cited description of the requirements for the various categories of tax-exempt entities from public charities, private foundations, civic associations, business leagues, and social clubs to title-holding companies and governmental entities can be found. Practical guidance on potential for income tax on revenue-producing enterprises along with explanations of many exceptions to taxability is provided. Issues raised by Internet activity, advertising, publishing, providing services, and much more are explained. This useful guide covers the many significant issues facing nonprofit organizations, including compensation and possible private inurement, affiliation, separations and mergers, donor disclosures, lobbying and electioneering, and employment taxes. Offers a supplemental, annual update to keep subscribers current on relevant changes in IRS forms, requirements, and related tax procedures Includes easy-to-use checklists highlighting such critical concerns as tax-exempt eligibility, reporting to the IRS, and comprehensive tax compliance issues Features a variety of sample documents for private foundations, including penalty abatement requests and sharing space agreements Provides helpful practice aids, such as a comparison of the differences between public and private charities, charts reflecting lobbying limits for different types of entities, and listings of rulings and cases that illustrate permissible activity for each type of organizations compared to impermissible activity Filled with practical tips and suggestions for handling such critical situations as preparing for and surviving an IRS examination, Tax Planning and Compliance for Tax-Exempt Organizations, Fifth Edition provides guidance for the significant issues facing nonprofit organizations.

The SAGE Course Companion on Financial Accounting is an accessible introduction to the subject that will help readers to master key concepts and enhance their thinking skills in line with course requirements. It provides support on how to revise for exams and prepare for and write assessed pieces. Designed to compliment existing textbooks for the course, the companion provides: - Easy access to the key issues in Financial Accouting - Practice questions and sample answers to help you prepare for exams and assignments - Tips to help you remember key points and earn extra marks - Helpful summaries of the approach taken by the main course textbooks - Guidance on the essential study skills required to pass the course The SAGE Course Companion on Financial Accounting is much more than a revision guide for undergraduates; it is an essential tool that will help readers take their course understanding to new levels and help them achieve success in their undergraduate course.