COM5401: Guides and Handbooks

This textbook provides concise information, classroom exercises, homework assignments, and speeches to enable college students to master public speaking. There is an emphasis on creating effective thesis sentences, motivational appeals, introductions and conclusions, outlines, and supporting information. The text includes sample speeches for each speaking assignment along with pertinent speech evaluation forms. Chapter topics include speech anxiety, delivery, subject selection and audience analysis, thesis sentences, motivational appeals, organizing and outlining, introduction and conclusion methods, supporting information, presentational aids, effective listening, Standard American English sounds, and creating various informative, persuasive, and special occasion speeches. A sample course syllabus is provided, as well as a test study guide. In this revised edition, some of the chapter exercises have been revamped, some sample speech outlines updated, some of the explanations clarified, and a new special occasion speech has been included.

This book helps the reader to understand the various interconnected components of communication. The component of these theories are like small pieces of glass. These three lenses make a Kaleidoscope for the reader to see a beautiful pattern of these components that answer the questions above. Finally, the book provides a conceptual framework to the readers to help them make persuasive speeches and become charismatic leaders. This book is intended for a broad audience including students, scholars, researchers and professors in undergraduate and graduate schools, entrepreneurs and practicing business executives around the world. The objective is to give a quick view into the ocean of academic literature and help further understanding on this topic. The book will also have many examples and best practices taken from famous speeches of leaders around the world.

Almost everything that matters to humans is derived from and through communication. Just because people communicate every day, however, does not mean that they are communicating competently. In fact, evidence indicates that there is a substantial need for better interpersonal skills among a significant proportion of the populace. Furthermore, "dark side" experiences in everyday life abound, and features of modern society pose new challenges that make the concept of communication competence increasingly complex. The Handbook of Communication Competence brings together scholars from across the globe to examine these various facets of communication competence, including its history, its essential components, and its applications in interpersonal, group, institutional, and societal contexts. The book provides a state-of-the-art review for scholars and graduate students, as well as practitioners in counseling, developmental, health care, educational, intercultural, and human resource management contexts, illustrating that communication competence is vital to health, relationships, and all collective human endeavors.

The current volume, featuring 28 contributions from cutting-edge researchers, emphasizes uses, purposes, origins, and consequences of nonverbal communication in the lives of individuals, dyads, and groups - in other words, the behaviour of human beings. As such, the volume as a whole is not just about communication systems per se nor the impact on humans of the physical environment, whether built or natural. Instead, the volume focuses on humans engaging in nonverbal communication and the communicative and psychological aspects of this behaviour. Nonverbal behaviour is an inclusive category and includes all emitted nonverbal behaviour that may be subject to interpretation by others, whether the behaviour is intentionally produced or not. This panoramic volume, edited by two of the world's leading authorities on nonverbal communication, contains 28 essays presenting the state of the art in the domain of nonverbal behaviour study. Reginald B. Adams, Jr. Tamara D. Afifi Peter Andersen Sarai Blincoe Ross W. Buck Peter Bull Judee K. Burgoon Vanessa L. Castro Gaëtan Cousin Amanda Denes M. Robin DiMatteo John P. Doody John F. Dovidio Marshall Duke Hilary Anger Elfenbein José-Miguel Fernández-Dols Mark G. Frank Jillian Gannon Robert Gifford Laura K. Guerrero Sarah D. Gunnery Amy G. Halberstadt Judith A. Hall Jinni A. Harrigan Monica J. Harris Hyisung C. Hwang Jessica Kalchik Arvid Kappas Mark L. Knapp Eva Krumhuber Ravi S. Kudesia Dennis Küster Marianne LaFrance Jessica L. Lakin Leslie Martin David Matsumoto Joann M. Montepare Anthony J. Nelson Stephen Nowicki Alison E. Parker Sona Patel Miles L. Patterson Stacie R. Powers Kevin Purring Klaus Scherer Marianne Schmid Mast Michael A. Strom Elena Svetieva Joseph B. Walther Benjamin Wiedmaier Leslie A. Zebrowitz

Media scholarship has responded to a rapidly evolving media environment that has challenged existing theories and methods while also giving rise to new theoretical and methodological approaches. This volume explores the state of contemporary media research. Focusing on Intellectual Foundations, Theoretical Perspectives, Methodological Approaches, Context, and Contemporary Issues, this volume is a valuable resource for media scholars and students.