CSL6782: Guides and Handbooks

`A strength of the book is that the solution-focused therapy process was clearly identified in a step-by-step procedure, with many examples of specific dialogues and strategies that would be appropriate with a client. Overall the book presented a coverage of the theoretical and application components of solution-focused counselling that would be valuable reference for health psychologist or allied-health professionals working in a stress-counselling role′ - Journal of Family Studies Solution-focused therapy is of growing interest to a wide range of professional not only because of the tight time limits within which so many have to work; counsellors are increasingly open to using a variety of approaches based on what is most helpful to their clients in their particular contexts. This book aims to help practitioners to extend their therapeutic repertoire of interventions by explaining clearly how solution-focused skills can help clients. Written for a wide range of professionals - psychologists, counsellors, social workers, probation officers, and mental health workers - this solution-focussed therapy manual looks at organizational and work-related stress, and on developing solutions for groups.

`This us a useful introductory book, which is particularly suitable for those in training. It is well structured and easy to read and includes excerpts from therapeutic exchanges to illustrate the points made′ - The Journal of Critical Psychology, Counselling and Psychotherapy `A useful resource for counsellors wishing to improve their efforts at transcultural counselling′ - New Therapist The Second Edition of this clear and practical guide is designed to help counsellors and professional helpers give effective, sensitive and appropriate support to clients from cultures other than their own. Patricia d′Ardenne and Aruna Mahtani illustrate the process of transcultural counselling using the contrasting case studies of four different clients, and highlight the impact of cultural issues at individual, community and global levels. Counsellors are encouraged to recognize the importance of life experiences for their work, and to think about ways of using their own skills and resources more flexibly in response to different cultural needs.

This student-friendly and well designed introductory text provides a thorough overview of 14 widely used theories. Experts examine each theory from the perspective of its historical background, major constructs, goals, cross-cultural considerations, and limitations. Traditional and brief interventions integrate theory with specific counseling strategies, giving students further insight into the counseling process and guidance in developing their personal counseling style. A consistent case study across chapters reinforces the differences between theories and illustrates assessment of client concerns and treatment planning. Introductory chapters explore core dimensions and brief approaches to the helping relationship, and how to best deliver counseling and advocacy services to diverse client groups. A complimentary test manual and PowerPoints for instructors' use are available by request on university letterhead.

The only text about counseling theories and techniques developed specifically for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and practitioners, this book is now fully updated with a focus on evidence-based practice. It reflects the great strides made in incorporating research-based knowledge into counseling/therapy interventions since the first edition''s publication nearly 10 years ago. The book disseminates the expertise of many of the most esteemed leaders and academic scholars in rehabilitation counseling. These authors emphasize state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of various counseling approaches and techniques for people with and without disabilities. New topics include evidence-based practice related to counseling/psychotherapy and motivational interviewing. Methodologies include person-centered counseling, solution-focused brief therapy, gestalt therapy, cognitive and behavioral therapies, psychodynamic therapy, and an Adlerian approach. The book describes basic counseling skills for rehabilitation, including motivational interviewing, group procedures, family counseling, and career and vocational counseling. Also addressed are counseling for individuals with substance abuse disorders, physical disabilities, psychiatric disabilities, and multicultural issues in counseling. Additionally, the book covers such professional issues as supervision in rehabilitation settings and managing risk. Case studies highlight the application of theories and techniques, and each chapter also includes learning objectives and discussion exercises. Accompanying ancillaries include an instructor''s manual containing a sample syllabus, an item bank for developing quizzes and exams, and classroom exercises, and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter. The text also serves as a valuable reference for rehabilitation and related health professions such as nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech and language therapy, and social work. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Emphasizes state-of-the-art scientific evidence that supports the effectiveness of leading rehabilitation counseling theories and techniques Focuses on counseling theories and techniques regarding rehabilitation and health and chronic illness and disability Serves as a text for upper-level rehabilitation counseling students and a reference for rehabilitation counseling professionals Includes new chapters on evidence-based practice regarding counseling and therapy and motivational interviewing Instructor''s manual and PowerPoint presentations Fong Chan, PhD, CRC, received his PhD in rehabilitation counseling psychology from the University of WisconsinñMadison in 1983. He is a full professor and director of clinical training (PhD Rehabilitation Psychology Program) in the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education, University of WisconsinñMadison. He is also the codirector of the Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Evidence-Based Vocational Rehabilitation Practices. Before joining the faculty at University of WisconsinñMadison in 1992, he was on the faculty in the Department of Psychology at the Illinois Institute of Technology for 4 years and the Department of Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center for 5 years. He is a certified rehabilitation counselor, a licensed psychologist, and a fellow in the American Psychological Association. Dr. Chan has more than 30 years of experience conducting applied rehabilitation research in the topical areas of psychosocial interventions, demand-side employment, transition and postsecondary education, evidence-based practice, and research methodologies. Dr. Chan has published over 250 refereed journal articles and book chapters. In addition, he is the editor of four textbooks: Case Management for Rehabilitation Health Professionals; Counseling Theories and Techniques for Rehabilitation Health Professionals; Understanding Psychosocial Adjustment to Chronic Illness and Disability: A Handbook for Evidence-Based Practitioners in Rehabilitation; and Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination Preparation: A Concise Guide to the Foundations of Rehabilitation Counseling. He also served as the co-chair for the U.S. Department of Education Rehabilitation Services Administration''s 33rd Institute for Rehabilitation Issues on Evidence-Based Practice. Norman L. Berven, PhD, is professor emeritus in the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education, University of WisconsinñMadison, having served on the faculty since 1976, and he has chaired the rehabilitation psychology program for more than 20 years. He previously held positions as a rehabilitation counselor at the San Mateo County Mental Health Service in California (now the San Mateo County Behavioral Health and Recovery Services), as a research associate at the ICD Rehabilitation and Research Center (now the Institute for Career Development) in New York City, and as an assistant professor at Seton Hall University. He is licensed as a psychologist and as a professional counselor by the state of Wisconsin and also holds the certified rehabilitation counselor credential. He is a fellow in the American Psychological Association and is a member of several professional associations in counseling, rehabilitation counseling, assessment, and counselor education. He has published more than 80 journal articles and book chapters on topics related to rehabilitation counseling, assessment, and counselor education and training. He has received the James F. Garrett Award for a Distinguished Career in Rehabilitation Research from the American Rehabilitation Counseling Association (ARCA), the ARCA Distinguished Professional Award, the American Counseling Association (ACA) Research Award, and 10 ARCA Research Awards. He has also received distinguished alumni awards from the Graduate Programs in Rehabilitation at the University of Iowa and from the rehabilitation psychology program at the University of WisconsinñMadison. Kenneth R. Thomas, DEd, received his undergraduate and graduate education at Penn State University and his psychoanalytic education at the Center for Psychoanalytic Study in Chicago. Prior to receiving his doctoral degree, Dr. Thomas worked as a rehabilitation counselor for the Pennsylvania Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation at the Pennsylvania Rehabilitation Center in Johnstown. Following a 1-year academic appointment in the counselor education program at Penn State, he joined the faculty at the University of WisconsinñMadison. At Wisconsin, he held several administrative positions, including chair of the Department of Rehabilitation Psychology and Special Education, chair of the Department of Therapeutic Science, and director of the Educational and Psychological Training Center within the School of Education. He was awarded professor emeritus status at the university in 2002. He has published three books and more than 125 refereed journal articles and book chapters in the areas of counseling, rehabilitation, disability, and psychoanalysis. He is a past president of the American Rehabilitation Counseling Association (ARCA), a fellow in three divisions of the American Psychological Association, and a recipient of the James Garrett Award for a Distinguished Career in Rehabilitation Research from the ARCA. He has also received the University of Wisconsin School of Education Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, and he holds Alumni Fellow status at Penn State University.

`Experienced supervisors would find it useful to read as a part of their continuous professional development′ - Counselling at Work Highlighting the crucial themes intrinsic to the supervision process, this volume offers a varied selection of methods for educating supervisors. Experienced international trainers describe how they teach critical elements in the practice of supervision and outline their models for teaching in the context of their practice. The book covers a wide range of topics including: contracting; reflective processes; supervision in group and multicultural contexts; and evaluation. The text is organized to bring continuity across the elements addressed, and to heighten awareness of educational methods as a whole. Case studies and exercises for teaching are provided.