CSL6825: Guides and Handbooks

`A strength of the book is that the solution-focused therapy process was clearly identified in a step-by-step procedure, with many examples of specific dialogues and strategies that would be appropriate with a client. Overall the book presented a coverage of the theoretical and application components of solution-focused counselling that would be valuable reference for health psychologist or allied-health professionals working in a stress-counselling role′ - Journal of Family Studies Solution-focused therapy is of growing interest to a wide range of professional not only because of the tight time limits within which so many have to work; counsellors are increasingly open to using a variety of approaches based on what is most helpful to their clients in their particular contexts. This book aims to help practitioners to extend their therapeutic repertoire of interventions by explaining clearly how solution-focused skills can help clients. Written for a wide range of professionals - psychologists, counsellors, social workers, probation officers, and mental health workers - this solution-focussed therapy manual looks at organizational and work-related stress, and on developing solutions for groups.

`This us a useful introductory book, which is particularly suitable for those in training. It is well structured and easy to read and includes excerpts from therapeutic exchanges to illustrate the points made′ - The Journal of Critical Psychology, Counselling and Psychotherapy `A useful resource for counsellors wishing to improve their efforts at transcultural counselling′ - New Therapist The Second Edition of this clear and practical guide is designed to help counsellors and professional helpers give effective, sensitive and appropriate support to clients from cultures other than their own. Patricia d′Ardenne and Aruna Mahtani illustrate the process of transcultural counselling using the contrasting case studies of four different clients, and highlight the impact of cultural issues at individual, community and global levels. Counsellors are encouraged to recognize the importance of life experiences for their work, and to think about ways of using their own skills and resources more flexibly in response to different cultural needs.

Marriage and family therapy (MFT) is a profession that is expected to grow rapidly over the next 10 years. This timely text provides the essentialknowledge base for all facets of supervision in MFT that are required to become an AAMFT-Approved Supervisor. The book focuses specifically on thedistinctive model of supervision used in MFT and further examines the unique supervisory issues arising within different approaches to the profession.Distinguished by its use of a single case example across chapters to help clarify how different theories diverge and overlap, the book embraces the fullrange of theoretical approaches, in addition to featuring a ,Äúnuts-and-bolts,Äù approach to the day-to-day fundamentals of MFT supervision. Grounded in the most up-to-date literature, the text discusses methods and issues of MFT supervision within multigenerational, structural, cognitivebehavioral, narrative, feminist, integrative, brief, and other supervision models. The text also surveys the most important and emerging settings andpopulations in which marriage and family therapists work, including medical and postdisaster trauma-informed practices. It covers legal and ethical issuesand discusses how culture, gender, and ethnicity must be considered during the supervision process. The text also addresses how to tailor supervision tothe supervisee,Äôs developmental level. Examples of common supervision dilemmas vividly demonstrate foundational principles. With contributions from leadingmarriage and family therapy educators and experienced supervisors, the text is designed for therapists at both the master,Äôs and doctoral levels who seekthe Approved Supervisor Credential and for MFT faculty who teach the AAMFT supervision course. KEY FEATURES: Meets the learning requirements for AAMFT-mandated courses leading to certification as an approved supervisor Covers the fundamentals of supervision in the systemic context that lie at the heart of marriage and family therapy Covers supervision in the major approaches to MFT, including cognitive behavioral, brief, narrative, structural, and other orientations Provides an illustrative case study across all supervision models to demonstrate the uniqueness and similarities of each approach Includes coverage of important populations and settings for MFT, such as medical and postdisaster

Marriage and Family Therapy: A Sociocognitive Approach is a comprehensive and clearly written introduction to sociocognitive therapy. It is rich with transcripts and case examples, culled from the authors'more than thirty-five years of practice, providing you with valuable background information on helping difficult-to-reach and hard-to-help populations. In practical language, this volume takes you step-by-step through methods of assessment and change that are useful in traditional and nontraditional families and couples. With clear language and taxonomy for family troubles and their resolution, Marriage and Family Therapy provides conceptual handles to guide you in learning intervention strategies, enabling you to work effectively with, most notably, lower working-class and poor inner-city, African-American families. A highlight of the book is the detailed look at terminal and instrumental interaction hypotheses and how they can be applied in actual therapy situations. With Marriage and Family Therapy as a guide, you will develop multiple skills and methods that equip you to better handle the challenging task of helping troubled families and couples.The first two chapters present the theoretical framework of the sociocognitive approach. In the third chapter, the assessment and change concepts central to Dr. Hurvitz's approach are introduced. The last four chapters show how these humanist principles are applied through the phases of opening, change-producing, and termination in therapy, creating an invaluable book for marriage and family therapists, social workers, psychologists, and educators.

There are many different models of marriage and family therapy; the challenge for students and beginning practitioners is deciding which one best suits their individual purposes. This highly practical volume elucidates the defining characteristics of 14 contemporary models, including their history, views of change, views of family and the role of the therapist; and methods of assessing family dynamics, goal setting; facilitating change; and knowing when to terminate. Each chapter also includes a template for implementing therapy models, and realistic case studies-many drawn from actual practice-to illustrate how each model would address common issues. In addition, the volume includes extensive interviews with master therapists such as Albert Ellis, Insoo Kim Berg, Sue Johnson, Susan McDaniel, Derald Wing Sue, and many others. They share their ideas of the ways in which change occurs, how they set goals, and how they perform therapy. For further clarification, each therapist illustrates how he/she would proceed via the same case study. Learning how to perform effective family therapy can be an arduous process of trial and error, yet this resource will ease the way for students and currently practicing family therapists who need to revisit the basics. Modalities Included Bowen Family Systems Theory Contextual Family Therapy Cognitive Behavioral Family Therapy Models Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy Symbolic-Experiential Family Therapy Satir Human Validation Process Model Milan Systemic Family Therapy Structural Family Therapy Strategic Family Therapy Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with Families Narrative Therapy with Families Emotionally Focused Therapy Medical Family Therapy Family Psychoeducation Key Features: Introduces the theory, history, theoretical assumptions, techniques, and components of each model Includes a template for using each model, from the initial meeting through assessment, intervention, and termination Provides numerous interviews with master therapists Includes case study commentary and analysis by master therapists Suggests questions, therapeutic strategies, and/or comments to consider for each therapeutic phase Includes a personality inventory to help readers select the most effective modality