Library User Guide

ABSTRACT - a short summary of an article or book; abstracts are provided along with citation information in many periodical indexes, and may be written by either the paper's author or an indexer. Typically the first 150 words of the article.  The opposite of abstract is FULL TEXT (see below).

ADOBE ACROBAT READER - a program for viewing PDF files, used in many full-text electronic journals. The reader program is free, and if you do not have it on your machine when it is needed to access an article, instructions for downloading it will usually appear on your screen.

ALMANAC - a volume containing a collection of miscellaneous facts and statistics on many subjects. Example: The World Almanac and Book of Facts.

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY - a list of books, articles, or other documents on a topic or by a particular author containing a citation of each item, as well as a brief description and/or a critical evaluation of it.

APA STYLE - a set of rules and guidelines for citing references as well as preparing and submitting manuscripts for publication from the American Psychological Association. These rules are detailed in the Publication Manual of the APA (currently, the 7th edition is standard use at Amberton).

ARTICLE - an essay or research report on a subject. Articles appear in magazines, journals, newspapers and other sources such as encyclopedias.

AUTHENTICATION - the process of verifying an off-campus user as an authorized viewer of research websites or other protected information.  Typically, authentication assures that paid access research sites are being used by students or faculty with an active, direct connection to the University.  Off-campus users must sign in with their Amberton-assigned credentials to access library resources.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION - (synonym for bibliographic reference) identifying information about a publication, used in catalogs and indexes as well as in lists of "literature cited" or "references" in scholarly publications. Formats vary, but a book citation generally includes at least information on the author, title, publisher, and date of publication; an article citation includes author, title, date, and information on the periodical in which it was published.

BIBLIOGRAPHY - a compilation of citations of works by a given author or works on a particular subject.  In APA format, a bibliography is called a "References" page.

BLURB - a brief summary or description of a work printed on the book jacket, publisher's catalog or advertisement to entice potential purchasers.

BOOK RETURN - a place to bring print books borrowed from the library back to the library. A large metal return is located outside the building on the southwest corner near the entrance to Student Services. There are book return slots just outside of each Library door. When the Library is open, please use the book return slot in front of the Check-out Desk.

BOOKMARK - a paper placeholder within a print book, or electronically a saved link to a Web page that allows the user to return to it later.

BOOLEAN LOGIC - words (AND, OR, NOT) used in searching online resources (such as the periodical indexes) that determine the relationship between two or more search terms.

BROWSER - a program that accesses the Internet and allows users to move from webpage to webpage.

CALL NUMBER - an alphanumeric code that identifies an item in the library collection and indicates its location on the shelves. Call numbers are listed in the catalog and marked on the book's spine label. Amberton Library uses the Library of Congress call number system. Example of call number: LC 6013 .K511 2009.

CARREL - a table for one reader, providing a somewhat secluded study area by means of front and side screening.

CARD CATALOG - a descriptive record of library holdings printed on cards and arranged in cabinets in a definite order. Amberton no longer uses a card catalog. (See OPAC)

CIRCULATING - library material that may be checked out by patrons.

CIRCULATION DESK - Check-out Desk - the desk in the center of the library where library material is checked out or returned.

CITATION - information about a book or article that is used to identify or locate that book or article. A citation usually includes the author, article title, book or journal title, date, volume number, and/or publication information.

CLASSIFICATION - the arrangement of knowledge into specific groups or systems. Amberton Library uses the Library of Congress classification system.

CURSOR - on the display screen of a computer, the small lighted rectangle, arrow, or other symbol that indicates where the next character will appear.

DATABASE - an organized collection of records containing data (citations, statistics, text, etc.) that can be searched and retrieved. The library catalog or periodical indexes are examples of databases.

ELECTRONIC BOOK, or eBook - books that are available in digital format. The advantage of having the book accessible via the Web is that you don't have to come into the library to read it. The books may also be searched by keyword.

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions - Many Internet sites, such as organizations' web sites and discussion lists, provide a FAQ. Newcomers are encouraged to read the FAQ before posting questions to avoid repetitious discussion.

FIELD - in a database, the part of a record reserved for a particular type of data; for example, in a library catalog, author, title, ISBN, subject headings, etc. would all be fields.

FIREWALL - a combination of software and hardware that limits access to a website and provides a degree of security.

FULL-TEXT - when the entire content of an item, such as an article, book, or encyclopedia, is available in electronic format. A large number of full-text electronic books are available through the Amberton Library website. The research databases include many full-text articles, but not all articles are available in full text online.  The publisher decides whether the abstract or full text can be posted.

HARD COPY - data printed on paper, in human-readable form, usually by a computer. Compare with soft copy, which is an image on a computer screen.

HOLDINGS - items or material owned by the library. For example "periodical holdings" refers to which volumes, or issues, of a particular magazine or journal are held or owned by Amberton's library.

HOME PAGE - the main web page for an individual or organization.

HTML - Hyper Text Markup Language - the coding syntax used to write Internet documents, which are read by browsers.

HTTP - Hyper Text Transfer Protocol - the Internet protocol that performs the request and retrieve functions of a server. Commonly seen as the first part of a website address.

HYPERLINK - a hypertext link; a graphic or text string which, when clicked, opens a new web page or jumps to a new location in the current page.

HYPERTEXT - the basic concept behind the Internet, whereby one resource can be linked to other relevant information elsewhere on the Internet. The user can view information non-sequentially; the idea is that the information is available in much the way that humans think - by association rather than linear sequence.

IBID - abbreviation for Latin ibidem, "in the same place." Used in references and citations to refer to the last work cited, saving re-typing the author and title. Example: 1. Wessel, Janet A. Fitness for the Modern Teenager. New York. The Ronald Press, 1963. p.70. 2. Ibid., p.87.

ICON - a pictorial image used in a graphical user interface to represent a program, a command, a link to a Web page, etc.

IN PRINT - still being published, and therefore available for purchase from the publisher or dealer.

INDEX - a list or systematic guide to the contents of a set of data, such as a periodical index or an index in a book.

IN PROCESS - newly acquired items in a library that are undergoing technical processing such as cataloging, marking, etc.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN - the process through which a library borrows material from another library or organization. If the item that you are looking for is not owned by Amberton's Library and you are current faculty, staff, or student, you can request an Interlibrary loan.

INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER (ISP) - a commercial company that sells Internet connection facilities.

IP NUMBER or ADDRESS - Internet Protocol Number - a 4-part number, separated by dots, which identifies a specific machine on the Internet

ISBN - International Standard Book Number - a numerical code given to a book that uniquely identifies it.

ISDN - Integrated Services Digital Network - a worldwide telecommunications system that transmits digital information on copper wire; ISDN has emerged from existing telephone services.

ISSN - International Standard Serial Number - a numerical code given to a serial (periodical) that uniquely identifies it.

JOURNAL - a periodical publication in which researchers report the results of their work to their peer community; compare with magazine. Articles are reviewed by an editorial board of scholars in the field prior to acceptance for publication (see also refereed journal), and generally include an abstract and numerous citations to previous work. The writing style in journals is formal rather than engaging, and journals generally have little or no advertising or glossy, catchy graphics and illustrations. Journals often have pages numbered continuously through the several issues of a given volume (for example, v.15 #1 has pages 1-223; v.15 #2 runs from p.224-587, and so forth to the last issue of the volume).

KEYWORD - a significant word in the title, abstract or text of a work; some periodical indexes identify keywords in a separate data field, so that they can be searched without searching the full text of the document. Some indexes use such keywords in place of assigning standard subject headings to items.

KEYWORD SEARCH - to search an electronic catalog or index by having the program search for terms (keywords) provided by the user. Keywords do not have to be standardized subject headings, and a keyword search often searches all data fields for the terms (e.g., "winter" as a keyword might retrieve items with Winter in the author field as well as items with "winter" in the text or title). Keyword searching often allows flexible and powerful features such as Boolean operators, truncation, and field searching.

LAN - Local Area Network - a group of computers networked to share resources, confined to a small geographic area (often a single building).

LIBRARY CATALOG - a database that contains records describing the material available or accessible at a library. Sometimes known as an OPAC. The Amberton library catalog may be searched via the Internet. See OPAC.

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION - a call number system used to classify and organize material in libraries. The Library of Congress system (LOC) is based on primary subject categories with each category being further subdivided into more narrow and specific topics.

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS - terms used by the Library of Congress to describe and classify areas of knowledge. These are the subjects under which books are listed in Amberton's OPAC and are represented by the first letters in each CALL NUMBER.

LOAN PERIOD - the length of time allowed for the use of an item checked out of the library.

LOGON, LOGOFF - to begin or to end operation of a computer or program.

MAGAZINE - a periodical, generally with a more "popular" style and presentation than a research journal. Usually, magazine articles are authored by staff writers for an audience of the general public or interested amateurs in a given field (rather than by researchers for their peers), and edited by a magazine employee rather than an independent board of scholars. Style tends to be engaging and eye-catching, and magazines often include substantial advertising. Pagination usually starts over at "1" with each issue. Compare with JOURNAL.

MICROFICHE - a former book storage option where a small sheet (4" x 6") containing microfilmed images of page is read with a microfilm reader. Many pages of text fit onto a single fiche, and their major advantage was in saving shelf space prior to digital books.

MICROFILM - a former book storage option where microphotographs of printed material on a reel of cellulose film was viewed using a microfilm reader/printer. Items in awkward or frail formats (such as newsprint) and popular magazines subject to damage from heavy use were often purchased in microfilm format rather than being bound between hard covers prior to digital storage.

MICROFORM - all forms of micro reproduction, e.g. Microfilm, microfiche, microprint, etc.

MLA STYLE - a set of rules and guidelines for citing references as well as preparing and submitting manuscripts for publication from the Modern Languages Association.  Not in use in any course at Amberton University.

NON-CIRCULATING - items that must be used in the library, i.e., reference books, periodicals and some reserve materials.

OCLC - Online Computer Library Center - a nonprofit library computer service and research organization with the stated goals of helping libraries further access to information and reduce information costs. Thousands of libraries around the world participate in the OCLC system. OCLC offers a large number of databases through their FirstSearch online system, including WorldCat, a combined catalog of participating libraries with links to facilitate interlibrary loans, and many special subject periodical indexes. OCLC is also used extensively by libraries for obtaining cataloging information for processing materials.

ONLINE CATALOG - a library catalog in the form of an electronic database, with the information in machine-readable format. See OPAC.

OPAC - Online Public Access Catalog - a computerized library catalog, or the portion of the catalog available for patron use.  Amberton Library's catalog is available on the home page of this website.

OVERDUE - an item still checked out to a patron after the due date (end of the loan period). Fines are assessed on overdue items.

PDF - Portable Document Format - a document-encoding process developed by Adobe that maintains page layout, fonts and graphics and can include many other features, e.g. hyperlinks.

PEER REVIEW - also known as a SCHOLARLY JOURNAL, a process that articles in many journals go through before they are published. Once an article is submitted for publication, it is sent to an editorial board comprised of experts in the field to be evaluated. The submitted article must receive the approval of the editorial board before it is published. The editorial board is usually identified at the beginning of each issue of a journal.

PERIODICAL - a serial published indefinitely at regular or stated intervals, generally more frequently than once a year. Each issue is numbered and/or dated consecutively and contains articles, stories, or other writings. Journals, magazines and newspapers are periodicals.

PUBLICATION DATE - 1. Book -- the date appears at the bottom of the title page (as opposed to the copyright date which is on the verso of the title page). 2. Periodical -- the day or month, etc., it was issued.

PUBLISHER - the person, company or organization responsible for placing a book, journal, or other publication on the market (as opposed to the printer or bookseller).

RECORD - an individual component of a database containing information such as citation(s), statistics, text, etc.

REFEREED JOURNAL - similar to PEER REVIEW, a journal in which articles have been evaluated by an independent expert in the field of research before acceptance for publication.

REFERENCE - an indication of where to find specific information, for example the references cited in scholarly work, or reference assistance from library staff.

REFERENCE COLLECTION - materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, etc., kept in a separate collection and not allowed to circulate, so that they will always be on hand when needed.

RESERVE - a collection of material in very high demand due to use in the curriculum. Instructors may request that library materials (or, in some cases, their own materials) be placed on reserve for students to use in the Library.

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL - usually contains articles on research and development, news, proceedings, or transactions in a particular field.

SEARCH ENGINE -the software used to retrieve information from a database. A search engine will include features such as Boolean syntax, truncation, specifying search fields, specifying display format, etc.

SEARCH STATEMENT - a phrase or combination of words that are entered into the library catalog or other database in order to find information.

SEARCH TERM - a word that is entered into the library catalog or other database in order to find information.

SERIALS -any publication issued in successive parts, usually (though not always) at regular intervals, and intended to be continued indefinitely. Serials include: periodicals, newspapers, magazines, annuals, yearbooks, journals, memoirs, proceedings, transactions, and numbered monographic series.

STYLE MANUAL - a publication which specifies details of writing style required by a particular publishing house or professional organization, including such matters as punctuation, capitalization, and rules for citing references. See APA STYLE.

SUBJECT HEADING -a term, name, or phrase used as an access point in a catalog or index that is arranged by topic. Generally, any particular index will use a standardized set of subject headings, which improves search precision once the user determines the "approved" headings being used for their topic.

SUBJECT SEARCH - to seek information by topic (as opposed to author or title). In many indexes and catalogs, a "subject" search implies searching by the use of standardized subject headings assigned by the indexers, as opposed to keyword searching, where the user essentially guesses at words included in titles or abstracts of relevant items.

SUBTITLE - an explanatory phrase following a main title. Example: Volcanoes of North America: a reading lesson for students of geography and geology.

TITLE SEARCH - to search for an item by its title, generally in an alphabetical listing.

TRUNCATION - in keyword searching, a means of searching for the variations of word endings. Attaching a designated character to a word stem in order to find all words beginning with that stem. Characters used to represent truncation vary though an asterisk is often used. An example of truncation is "computer*" which would include hits with the words "computer", "computers", "computerize", "computer-assisted".

URL -Uniform Resource Locator - an address that specifies the location of a file on the Internet (e.g http://www.amberton.edu)

VERIFICATION - confirmation of the accuracy of bibliographical data. A user having difficulty finding an item may need to verify the citation they are working from.

VERSO - the left-hand page of a book, usually with even-numbered pages. The copyright date of a book is found on the verso (back) of the title page.