CSL6760: Guides and Handbooks

The leading manual on group-based treatment of substance use disorders, this practical book is grounded in the transtheoretical model and emphasizes the experiential and behavioral processes of change. The program helps clients move through the stages of change by building skills for acknowledging a problem, deciding to act, developing and executing a plan, and accomplishing other critical tasks. The expert authors provide step-by-step guidelines for implementing the 35 structured sessions, along with strategies for enhancing motivation. In a large-size format for easy photocopying, the volume includes 58 reproducible handouts. Readers who purchase a copy also get access to a webpage where they can download and print reproducible materials. Edition reflects significant developments in research and clinical practice; provides eight new sessions focusing on the brain and substance use, gratitude, self-control, mindfulness, acceptance, and more; updates discussion of motivational interviewing and the use of cognitive-behavioral techniques with groups; makes available 41 of the 58 handouts that are new and/or revised.

"Substance addiction and abuse permeate modern life at unrecognized levels, and many behavioral addictions go completely unrecognized or untreated. Dr. (Robert) Smith and his colleagues present realistic examples of the complete spectrum of substance and process addictions with integrated models of assessment, diagnosis, and treatment. It is important for all professionals to learn how pervasive this problem is and how to create effective client treatment plans. This book should be mandatory reading for all counselors and therapists."--Jon Carlson, PsyD, EdD, Distinguished Professor, Governors State University

Written as an introduction to the field of addiction counseling, this text covers the fundamental knowledge and skills necessary to counsel people who are struggling with addiction. The authors provide a straightforward and holistic approach to treatment and recovery, from the major theoretical underpinnings, to assessment and diagnosis, to relapse prevention and spirituality. With a focus on current clinical applications and how-tos, this book is ideal for master's-level addictions courses and mental health clinicians. Topics covered are cultural and gender issues, including work with LGBT clients; drug classifications and referral; assessment, diagnosis, and interview techniques; the continuum from nonuse to addiction; work in college/university, school, and community/mental health agency settings; developmental approaches in treatment; the role of the family; grief and loss in addiction; group counseling; relapse and recovery; spirituality and support groups; addictions training, certification, and ethics; and the importance of counselor self-care. Exploration questions and suggested activities are presented in each chapter.

Emerging approaches to treating addictions and minimizing relapse are spotlighted in this idea-packed volume, as alternatives or adjuncts to standard psychological and pharmacological therapies. Its biopsychosocial perspective delves into the causes and processes of chemical dependence, and the clinical characteristics it shares with other addictions (e.g., food, sex, gambling, online activities), to identify client needs that substance abuse may fulfill. Accordingly, the diverse modalities featured here address substance addiction on multiple levels, offering clients physical or mental stimulation and/or emotional relief as well as affording different degrees of autonomy. Methods can be mixed and matched to reinforce treatment goals, and clinicians can tailor treatment to individual issues and interests to assure clients nuanced and meaningful care.

Social Work in Mental Health brings together a range of scholarly reflections and writings on the different roles of a social worker in the field of mental health. It provides a holistic picture to introduce readers to the wider issues of social work and mental health practice. The book offers a detailed discussion on the theoretical and practice frameworks that are based on social justice and human rights perspectives. It not only provides an overview of intervention strategies but also directs readers' attention to an alternative way of addressing mental health issues. with the author presenting a cross-cultural and global perspective of mental health, though he does feature specific references to India and Asia. He also addresses some of the recent debates in recovery, partnerships and strengths-based practices. The book has been specially designed for social work students, human service professionals and mental health practitioners and academicians. Readers are exposed to many different contexts within which social workers come into contact with those experiencing mental health concerns. The specific needs for particular community groups, including children, young and older people, are identified.

An indispensable collection of ready-to-use, proven exercises, providing immediately useful group counseling suggestions and tips for addictions counselors. Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling offers powerful techniques that can be adapted to any clinical practice. Written in the author's gentle yet purposeful voice, this reader-friendly resource is filled with guidance for developing an addictions counseling group; handling Stage 2 confrontations of the leader; and building group member awareness. In addition, the author helps counselors enhance client awareness of addiction-related stressors and how to cope with those stressors. Group Exercises for Addiction Counseling contains information on: addiction recovery; family, relationships, and culture; feelings exploration; group community building; recovery skills; opening and closing each group session; and fostering care, respect, and honesty in the group counseling setting

Addiction professionals make decisions everyday that impact peoples lives. Sometimes these decisions are solid, and sometimes they are the result of flawed thinking, which often results from myths and generalizations that are perpetuated in the field. Thinking flaws are common not just in counselors, but in supervisors, administrators, and presenters, and can lead to potentially negative outcomes both for clients and for programs. In this easy-to-read guide--the first to bring together critical thinking and addiction work--critical thinking expert and addiction professional Dr. Michael J. Taleff offers readers the tools they need to think critically and make better decisions. In the text, Dr. Taleff provides insightful analysis on the kinds of thinking errors often made by counselors, which should be required reading in all areas of health and human services.

This title is highly appropriate for academic libraries. The scope of topics that are covered includes behavioral addictions even like eating disorders, gambling, and compulsive shopping. The editors focus well on the preparation of the profession with numerous articles on standards, training, ethics, and professional organizations. An emphasis on expectations and current practice make the volumes an excellent resource for anyone preparing for the field. It is comprehensive, reflecting intelligently on the recent explosion in knowledge base on all aspects of the alcohol and drug abuse field. The set presents state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. with approximately 350 A-to-Z signed entries focusing upon the information that addiction treatment and prevention professionals and allied health professionals need to effectively work with clients.

Art therapy is an effective treatment for individuals with addictions. Working with this unique and often difficult clinical population, however, requires special therapist awareness and knowledge. This handbook provides an in-depth foundation of knowledge for art therapists working with clients with addictions. Drawing on many years' experience working with this population, Libby Schmanke provides valuable insight into this client group and explains how to ensure therapeutic interventions remain personalized and effective, while also meeting program needs. With case vignettes throughout, the book covers everything from common treatment models and how art therapy can be incorporated within them, to the bio-psycho-social aspects of addiction and how to handle a lack of cooperation or resistance to therapy.

A new understanding of substance abuse explores treatment issues based on subtypes of addicts, with a special focus on antisocial personality disorder and functional addiction. Professionals in the treatment of substance abuse have long recognized the dismal success rate in addressing this pervasive problem. A fresh view of addiction may offer long-sought answers. Intervention and treatment strategies can be made more effective, maintains veteran addiction educator and psychologist Gary L. Fisher, through identification of addict subtypes. That is the goal of Understanding Why Addicts Are Not All Alike: Recognizing the Types and How Their Differences Affect Intervention and Treatment. The book provides an in-depth, research-based analysis of three specific subtypes of substance abusers: addicts who fit the disease model, addicts with antisocial personality disorder, and functional addicts--those who lead otherwise successful lives. Particular attention is paid to the latter two groups, which have not been adequately studied previously. Characteristics of the three subtypes are illustrated through case studies. The book the recommends practical intervention and treatment strategies that will enable concerned parties to identify--and help--each of these distinct groups.

How can counselors help addicted women get sober and to lead healthier lives? What are the issues women face as they work through problems with substance abuse? How does motherhood influence the recovery process? This book answers these and other questions surrounding the effective treatment of women addicts. It offers hands-on practical guidance to counselors, nurses, social workers, and others who help women along the journey from substance abuse to healthy and fulfilling lives.

This book identifies and addresses potential clinical issues for clients who have family members struggling with addiction, and offers concrete strategies for treatment. Viewing addiction as a family disease, the author explores the complex challenges faced by family members, examines the ways in which substance use disorders affect family dynamics, and discusses behaviors that help sustain recovery and create and maintain healthy relationships. A brief history of substance abuse is provided, as are the primary models of addiction and family theory. A chapters on codependency and another on the emotional, relational, and behavioral consequences of living with a family member with a substance use disorder follow. The universality of substance abuse is then examined along with specific ethnic and cultural differences. Family support group treatment options complete the text. Case conceptualization exercises that contain reflections, implications for the counselor, and discussion questions for application of the material are interspersed throughout the book.

The misuse of alcohol presents both individual physical and psychological problems as well as wider social consequences. Alcohol misuse is a frequent cause of attendance in accident and emergency departments and an underlying factor in a range of long term and chronic conditions commonly treated and managed within primary care settings. This expanded fifth edition includes new chapters on alcohol and the young person, alcohol related liver disease, neurological problems, alcohol and the older person, alcohol and cancer, and the alcohol nurse specialist. There is also improved coverage of the role of alcohol health workers, and guidance on the availability of voluntary alcohol services more generally. From a new editor and a multidisciplinary contributor team, ABC of Alcohol is a practical guide for general practitioners, family physicians, practice nurses, primary healthcare professionals as well as for junior doctors, medical and nursing students.

This book completes a series of clinical and experimental observations on dreams about drugs of drug-addicted patients, providing a systematic and comprehensive discussion on drug dreams that involves various fields of study and, ideally, to suggest future clinical and research applications.

The second edition of this book provides further and in-depth insight into theoretical models dealing with Internet addiction, as well as including new therapeutical approaches. The editors also delve into the emerging topic of smartphone addiction. This book combines a scholarly introduction with state-of-the-art research in the characterization of Internet addiction. It is intended for a broad audience including scientists, students and practitioners. The first part of the book contains an introduction to Internet addiction and pathogenesis. The second part is dedicated to an in-depth review of neuroscientific findings which cover studies using a variety of biological techniques including brain imaging and molecular genetics. The third part focuses on therapeutic interventions for Internet addiction. The fourth part of edition is an extension that adds material dealing with an emerging disorder - smartphone addiction. Moreover, additional content in this edition provides an overview of theoretical models dealing with Internet addiction, results from twin studies in the context of Internet addiction, and also additional insights into therapeutic approaches of Internet addiction.

Now fully-revised and updated, this second edition of ACT Made Simple includes new information and chapters on self-compassion, flexible perspective taking, working with trauma, and more. No matter how rewarding a job as a mental health professional, counselors may sometimes feel helpless.You are also well aware of the challenges and frustrations that can present during therapy. If you're looking for ways to optimize client sessions, consider joining the many thousands of therapists and life coaches worldwide who are learning acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT). With a focus on mindfulness, client values, and a commitment to change, ACT is proven-effective in treating depression, anxiety, stress, addictions, eating disorders, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder (BPD), and myriad other psychological issues. It's also a revolutionary new way to view the human condition--packed full of new tools, techniques, and strategies for promoting profound behavioral change. A practical primer, ACT Made Simple offers clear explanations of the six ACT processes and a set of real-world tips and solutions for rapidly and effectively implementing them in practice.